BA Newsletter: Get Analysis, Rankings Delivered To Your Inbox!

Major League Baseball To Restore Previous Minor League Names

Minor League Baseball is turning back the clock … all the way to 2020.

As part of the sweeping changes ushered in last season, leagues were realigned and renamed by classification and region. The highest level of the minors was split into two leagues—Triple-A East and Triple-A West—which replaced the familiar International League and Pacific Coast League monikers.

A level lower, the Texas, Southern and Eastern Leagues became Double-A Central, South and East. Similar changes occurred at both Class A levels.

As it turns out, the changes lasted only one season. Major League Baseball announced on Wednesday that it will restore the old names for the 2022 season and beyond, though the current realignment will still stand.

Here’s how the names will work out:

  • Triple-A East becomes the International League
  • Triple-A West becomes the Pacific Coast League
  • Double-A Central becomes the Texas League
  • Double-A South becomes the Southern League
  • Double-A East becomes the Eastern League
  • High-A Central becomes the Midwest League
  • High-A East becomes the South Atlantic League
  • High-A West becomes the Northwest League
  • Low-A West becomes the California League
  • Low-A East becomes the Carolina League
  • Low-A Southeast becomes the Florida State League

“Major League Baseball is pleased to restore the historic names for each of the minor leagues that our fans are familiar with,” Major League Baseball senior vice president of minor league operations and development Peter Woodfork said. “We are excited for what the future holds for each of these leagues and the communities that make up Minor League Baseball.”

Roboscout Copy (1)

RoboScout's Prospect Names To Know, June 4, 2023

See who Dylan White's RoboScout tool is singling out as the prospects to watch across all four levels of the minors.

of Free Stories Remaining