Jackson Holliday Wins 2023 Minor League Player of the Year Award


Image credit: Jackson Holliday is Baseball America's 2023 MiLB Player of the Year

For a second consecutive season, a Baltimore Orioles player is Baseball America’s Minor League Player of the Year.

Shortstop Jackson Holliday, the No. 1 pick in the 2022 MLB Draft, is the 2023 Minor League Player of the Year. He follows in the footsteps of O’s shortstop Gunnar Henderson, Baseball America’s 2022 MiLB Player of the Year.

Holliday, 19, becomes the third Orioles player all time to win Baseball America’s Minor League Player of the Year. Catcher Matt Wieters was the MiLB Player of the Year in 2008.

Holliday is the son of long-time MLB outfielder Matt Holliday. He currently ranks No. 1 on Baseball America Top 100 Prospects rankings.

Holliday also becomes the fourth player to win both Baseball America’s High School Player of the Year and MiLB Player of the Year, joining catcher Joe Mauer, outfielder Byron Buxton and shortstop Bobby Witt Jr.

While most high school draftees spend their entire first season in Class A, Holliday blew through two Class A levels of Delmarva (Carolina League) and Aberdeen (South Atlantic League) by the mid-season all-star break. He began the second half at Double-A Bowie (Eastern League), and earned a promotion to Triple-A Norfolk (International League) in September.

Holliday led the minors in runs scored and finished fifth in the minors in on-base percentage and hit .323/.442/.501 for the season. He walked almost as much as he struck out. He’s proven to be a reliable and solid defender at shortstop and second base. He swiped 24 bases while showing off his plus speed.

Of the 23 high school position players selected with the No. 1 pick, Holliday became only the fifth to play in Double-A or higher in his first full pro season following his selection. The others include Ken Griffey Jr., Alex Rodriguez and Harold Baines. (Catcher Mike Ivie was the fifth).

Baseball America’s Minor League Player of the Year has been a staple of our coverage since 1981. The goal of selecting the MiLB POY remains the same as it was in that first year of the company’s existence: We reward the best season by a prospect in the minor leagues, factoring age, level and projected future MLB value. 

Over the years, the award has consistently highlighted players who have gone on to be among the best of the best it the major leagues.

Baseball America subscribers can read an in-depth story on Holliday’s development and his future potential.

A full list of previous winners is included below.

1981Mike MarshallFirst basemanAAALos Angeles Dodgers
1982Ron KittleOutfielderAAAChicago White Sox
1983Dwight GoodenPitcherANew York Mets
1984Mike BieleckiPitcherAAAPittsburgh Pirates
1985Jose CansecoOutfielderAAAOakland Athletics
1986Gregg JefferiesShortstopAANew York Mets
1987Gregg JefferiesShortstopAAANew York Mets
1988Tom GordonPitcherAAAKansas City Royals
1989Sandy Alomar Jr.CatcherAAASan Diego Padres
1990Frank ThomasFirst basemanAAChicago White Sox
1991Derek BellOutfielderAAAToronto Blue Jays
1992Tim SalmonOutfielderAAACalifornia Angels
1993Manny RamirezOutfielderAAACleveland Indians
1994Derek JeterShortstopAAANew York Yankees
1995Andruw JonesOutfielderAAtlanta Braves
1996Andruw JonesOutfielderAAAAtlanta Braves
1997Paul KonerkoCatcher/First BasemanAAALos Angeles Dodgers
1998Eric ChavezThird basemanAAAOakland Athletics
1999Rick AnkielPitcherAAASt. Louis Cardinals
2000Jon RauchPitcherAAChicago White Sox
2001Josh BeckettPitcherAAFlorida Marlins
2002Rocco BaldelliOutfielderAAATampa Bay Rays
2003Joe MauerCatcherAAMinnesota Twins
2004Jeff FrancisPitcherAAAColorado Rockies
2005Delmon YoungOutfielderAAATampa Bay Rays
2006Alex GordonThird basemanAAKansas City Royals
2007Jay BruceOutfielderAAACincinnati Reds
2008Matt WietersCatcherAABaltimore Orioles
2009Jason HeywardOutfielderAAAAtlanta Braves
2010Jeremy HellicksonPitcherAAATampa Bay Rays
2011Mike TroutOutfielderAALos Angeles Angels of Anaheim
2012Wil MyersOutfielderAAAKansas City Royals
2013Byron BuxtonOutfielderAMinnesota Twins
2014Kris BryantThird basemenAAAChicago Cubs
2015Blake SnellPitcherAAATampa Bay Rays
2016Yoan MoncadaSecond basemanAABoston Red Sox
2017Ronald AcunaOutfielderAAAAtlanta Braves
2018Vladimir Guerrero Jr.Third basemanAAAToronto Blue Jays
2019Gavin LuxShortstopAAALos Angeles Dodgers
2020No minor league season due to COVID-19 pandemic
2021Bobby Witt Jr.ShortstopAAAKansas City Royals
2022Gunnar HendersonShortstopAAABaltimore Orioles
2023Jackson HollidayShortstopAAABaltimore Orioles

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone