Cal State Fullerton Leads In Alumni Playing In MLB Postseason

Playoff baseball is well underway with the division series beginning this week, and college teams are keeping a close watch on the action.

Cal State Fullerton has the most alumni on playoff rosters, with five players playing this postseason. Dylan Floro and Justin Turner are teaming up for the Dodgers and Kurt Suzuki is with the Braves. Matt Chapman and Khris Davis this season starred for the Athletics, who lost in the AL Wild Card Game. Fullerton had seven alumni on Opening Day rosters, tied for fourth most this year.

Southeastern Conference rivals Louisiana State and Vanderbilt rank second with four alumni in the postseason. Connecticut, Miami and Mississippi State all have three alums on postseason rosters.

Middle Georgia State is the lone non-Division I school with multiple former players on postseason rosters. The NAIA school produced Josh Reddick (Astros) and J.B. Wendelken (A’s).

Of the more than 250 players on playoff rosters this year, 130 went to a two- or four-year college. They represent 100 different schools, from Alabama (David Robertson, Yankees) to Young Harris (Ga.) JC (Nick Markakis, Braves).

This count credits players for their final college season before they went to pro ball. Jason Kipnis (Indians) counts for Arizona State, but not for Kentucky, where he began his college career. Players who went to a four-year school after junior college are counted only for their four-year school.


College Baseball Players In MLB Postseason

School Number
Cal State Fullerton 5
Louisiana State 4
Vanderbilt 4
Miami 3
Mississippi State 3
Connecticut 3
Arizona State 2
Arkansas 2
California 2
Fresno State 2
Indiana 2
Middle Georgia 2
South Carolina 2
Stanford 2
Texas 2
North Carolina 2
Virginia 2
Virginia Tech 2
Alabama 1
Auburn 1
Austin Peay State 1
Barry (Fla.) 1
Baylor 1
Belmont Abbey (N.C.) 1
Berry (Ga.) 1
Carson-Newman (Tenn.) 1
Chipola (Fla.) JC 1
Cincinnati 1
Clemson 1
Coastal Carolina 1
College of Charleston 1
Connecticut-Avery Point JC 1
Dartmouth 1
Dallas Baptist 1
Eastern Mennonite (Va.) 1
Evansville 1
Florida Gulf Coast 1
Florida Southern 1
Georgia 1
Gloucester County (N.J.) JC 1
Georgia Tech 1
Gulf Coast (Fla.) JC 1
Hartford 1
Hawaii 1
High Point 1
Indian River (Fla.) JC 1
Jacksonville 1
Kansas State 1
Kent State 1
Kentucky 1
Louisiana-Lafayette 1
Long Beach State 1
Louisville 1
Michigan 1
Missouri State 1
Missouri 1
Monmouth 1
Neosho County (Kan.) JC 1
Northeastern 1
Northwestern 1
Nova Southeastern (Fla.) 1
Old Dominion 1
Mississippi 1
Oregon 1
Rice 1
Riverside (Calif.) JC 1
San Francisco 1
Santa Fe (Fla.) JC 1
Scottsdale (Ariz.) JC 1
San Diego State 1
Southeastern Louisiana 1
Seminole (Fla.) JC 1
Slippery Rock (Pa.) 1
Sonoma State (Calif.) 1
South Alabama 1
South Dakota State 1
South Florida 1
Southern Mississippi 1
St. Johns River (Fla.) JC 1
Saint Mary’s 1
Stetson 1
Tallahassee (Fla.) JC 1
Tennessee-Martin 1
Texas A&M 1
UC Riverside 1
Central Florida 1
UC Santa Barbara 1
Illinois-Chicago 1
Southern California 1
USC Upstate 1
San Diego 1
Texas-Permian Basin 1
Wallace State (Tenn.) JC 1
Weatherford (Texas) JC 1
West Virginia 1
Western Carolina 1
Western Oklahoma 1
Western Oregon 1
Young Harris (Ga.) JC 1

*Correction: UCLA was previously listed as having just one player in the postseason roster. The Bruins have three counting wild card rosters.  

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone