USA Baseball Announces Golden Spikes Award Finalists

USA Baseball on Wednesday announced the finalists for the Golden Spikes Award. The finalists are Louisville lefthander/first baseman Brendan McKay, Mississippi State first baseman Brent Rooker, North Carolina righthander J.B. Bukauskas and Virginia outfielder/lefthander Adam Haseley.

The Golden Spikes will be presented June 29 in Los Angeles and will be shown live on SportsCenter by ESPN.

The finalists received the most votes from the Golden Spikes Award voting committee among the 25 semifinalists announced last month. The committee will have another round of voting to determine the winner. Fans can participate in the voting by going to before 5 p.m. ET on July 23.

The four finalists were all named first-team All-Americans and drafted Monday in the top 35 overall picks. McKay last week was named Baseball America’s College Player of the Year. The last six BA College Players of the Year have also won the Golden Spikes Award.

Of the four programs represented on the list of finalists, only Mississippi State has ever produced a Golden Spikes Award winner. Mississippi State first baseman Will Clark won the award in 1985.

Kyle Lewis, the College Player of the Year last season, was the Golden Spikes winner in 2016. Other previous winners include Andrew Benintendi (2015), Kris Bryant (2013), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010) and Stephen Strasburg (2009).

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone