Tulane Hires Jewett As Coach

Travis Jewett, the hitting coach and recruiting coordinator responsible for two No. 1 recruit classes at Vanderbilt the past four seasons, was introduced Tuesday as Tulane’s new head coach.

Jewett helped Vanderbilt reach the College World Series in each of his first three seasons and win the national championship in 2014. His recruiting classes all ranked in the top 25, and his 2012 and 2015 classes ranked No. 1 in the country.

At Tulane, Jewett will replace David Pierce, who was the Green Wave’s coach the past two years before being hired by Texas last month. Tulane went 41-21 and won the American Athletic Conference this season, its first conference championship since winning Conference USA in 2005.

Jewett will now be charged with helping Tulane take the next step of advancing past regionals for the first time since 2005. He has had success throughout his coaching career, which began at Tacoma (Wash.) CC  in 1994. After a season as an assistant, he spent two years as head coach, followed by two years as the coach at Edmonds (Wash.) CC.

Since 1999, Jewett has been an assistant coach at the Division I level, beginning with three seasons at Gonzaga. He left Gonzaga following the 2011 season for Washington State, his alma mater. That move began an 11-year run as an assistant coach in the Pac-12 Conference. He also coached at Washington and Arizona State.

Jewett becomes the third assistant coach in Tim Corbin’s 14-year tenure as Vanderbilt coach to become a head coach, joining Michigan’s Erik Bakich (who originally left for Maryland) and Oklahoma State’s Josh Holliday. All three were recruiting coordinators under Corbin, while former pitching coach Derek Johnson left to become the Cubs pitching coordinator in 2012 and is now in his first season as the Brewers pitching coach. Scott Brown, who replaced Johnson as pitching coach, remains at Vanderbilt.

School Departures Arrivals
Alabama Mitch Gaspard Greg Goff
Alabama State Mervyl Melendez Jose Vazquez
Appalachian State Billy Jones Kermit Smith
Army Matt Reid Jim Foster
Butler Steve Farley Dave Schrage
Central Florida Terry Rooney Greg Lovelady
Florida International Turtle Thomas Mervyl Melendez
Furman Ron Smith Brett Harker
Jacksonville Tim Montez Chris Hayes
Kentucky Gary Henderson Nick Mingione
Lamar Jim Gilligan (ret.) Will Davis
Liberty Jim Toman
Louisiana Tech Greg Goff Lane Burroughs
Missouri Tim Jamieson Steve Bieser
Nebraska-Omaha Bob Herold
Northwestern State Lane Burroughs Bobby Barbier
Oakland John Musachio Jacke Healey, Colin Kaline
Purdue Doug Schreiber Mark Wasikowski
San Jose State Dave Nakama Jason Hawkins
South Dakota State Dave Schrage
SIU-Edwardsville Tony Stoecklin Sean Lyons
Southeast Missouri State Steve Bieser
Texas Augie Garrido David Pierce
Tulane David Pierce Travis Jewett
Villanova Joe Godri  Kevin Mulvey
Wright State Greg Lovelady Jeff Mercer
Youngstown State Steve Gillispie Dan Bertolini

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone