Top 50 Senior Prospects

Baseball America this week is presenting its annual ranking of the top 50 prospects in each class, concluding today with seniors.

Florida catcher J.J. Schwarz, ranked No. 142 on the Top 200 Draft Prospects list, tops this ranking. He hit .259/.351/.444 with 12 home runs last season and helped the Gators win the first national championship in program history. Schwarz is the second Gator to rank No. 1 on his class’ Top 50 list, joining righthander Brady Singer, the top-ranked junior.

Nebraska has a pair of top-10 seniors in righthander Luis Alvarado and outfielder/first baseman Scott Schreiber. The pair helped the Cornhuskers last season win the Big Ten Conference regular-season title and will play big roles again this year.

Southern Mississippi leads all teams with three players on the list. In all, 38 schools are represented.

The rankings are primarily a reflection of draft status, with some consideration given for how players are expected to perform this spring.

1. J.J. Schwarz, C/1B, Florida

2. Chris Williams, C, Clemson

3. Trey Truitt, OF, Mercer

4. Luis Alvarado, RHP/2B, Nebraska

5. Cason Sherrod, RHP, Texas A&M

6. Matt Duce, C, Dallas Baptist

7. Josh McLain, OF, North Carolina State

8. Scott Schreiber, OF/1B, Nebraska

9. Brooks Wilson, RHP, Stetson

10. Devon Perez, RHP, Oklahoma

11. Brett Bond, C, Missouri

12. Luke Heimlich, LHP, Oregon State

13. Brock Deatherage, OF, North Carolina State

14. Laine Huffman, SS, Long Beach State

15. Jake Bird, RHP, UCLA

16. Nick Horvath, LHP/OF, Florida

17. Kaylor Chafin, LHP, Texas A&M

18. Rhett Aplin, OF, Florida State

19. Wade Bailey, 2B, Georgia Tech

20. Josh Anthony, 3B, Auburn

21. Mickey Gasper, C, Bryant

22. J.T. Thomas, C, Mercer

23. LeeMarcus Boyd, SS, Southern Mississippi

24. Kevin Woodall, 1B, Coastal Carolina

25. Brett Daniels, RHP, North Carolina

26. Jake Lowery, RHP, Michigan State

27. Luke Bonfield, OF/1B, Arkansas

28. Logan Sowers, OF, Indiana

29. Peter Strzlecki, RHP, South Florida

30. Kel Johnson, OF/1B, Georgia Tech

31. Daniel Keating, OF, Southern Mississippi

32. Micah Coffey, 3B, Minnesota

33. Clayton Daniel, 2B, Jacksonville State

34. Gunnar Troutwine, C, Wichita State

35. Mason Irby, OF, Southern Mississippi

36. Miguel Asusa, LHP, Oral Roberts

37. Jeb Bargfeldt, LHP, Miami

38. Carson Shaddy, 2B, Arkansas

39. Zack Gahagan, 2B, North Carolina

40. Zach Jancarski, OF, Maryland

41. Cal Stevenson, OF, Arizona

42. Colin Brockhouse, OF, Ball State

43. Shane McCarthy, RHP, Seton Hall

44. Kevin Magee, LHP, St. John’s

45. Jake Miednik, LHP, Florida Atlantic

46. Taylor Bloom, RHP, Maryland

47. Eli Krauss, LHP, Kent State

48. Taylor Schwaner, 3B, Southeastern Louisiana

49. Jack Labosky, 3B/RHP, Duke

50. Alex Boxwell, OF, Minnesota


Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone