Three Teams Finalize 2018 NJCAA Division I World Series Field

Image credit: Sam Suplizio Field

On Sunday afternoon, three teams earned victories in their respective District Championships to punch the final tickets for the 2018 NJCAA Division I Baseball World Series. Iowa Western, Monroe College (N.Y.) and Jefferson (Mo.) completed the ten-team bracket and will head to Grand Junction, Colorado. The championship round begins on May 26 at Sam Suplizio Field.

Iowa Western (53-5) annihilated Olney Central (Ill.), 19-3, on Sunday, thanks to a five-RBI day from third baseman Breyden Eckhout. With the win, Iowa Western became the Northern Region champion.


Monroe College (36-14-1) defeated ASA Brooklyn, 8-1, on Sunday afternoon to become the Eastern District champion. The Mustangs had two big innings, scoring four runs in the third and three more in the eighth to cruise to victory. Left fielder Troy Davern was one of three players to knock in two runs, scoring two on a triple in the third inning to help his team win, 8-1.

Jefferson (Mo.) was crowned the South Central champion on Sunday. Like Iowa Western, Jefferson scored 19 runs in a victory that was never in doubt. By the time Delgado (La.) got the third out in the fourth inning, Jefferson had scored 12 runs en route to the 19-4 finish. First baseman Joey Polak and catcher Jacob Kalusniak each drove in five runs to help seal the outcome and move Jefferson’s record to 53-10-1 on the year.


The seven other teams competing in the field are Barton (Kan.), Walters State (Tenn.), Chipola (Fla.), Chattahoochee Valley (Ala.), San Jacinto (TX), Temple (TX) and Southern Idaho.

Barton (Kan.) made the field after winning the Central District and enter the round with a 47-13 mark. Walters State (Tenn.) has the best record in the field at 56-6 and clinched the East Central District. Chipola (Fla.) won the Gulf District to finish with a 42-16 record heading into championship play.

The Southeastern District was won by Chattahoochee Valley (Ala.), a team that won 48 games and lost just ten times. San Jacinto (TX) won the Southern District and boasts a 49-13 clip. Temple (TX) won the Southeastern District, but enters the field with the worst record at 35-23. Southern Idaho boasts a strong resume with a 48-10 mark and is the Western District champion.

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone