Terry Francona Nearly Put Indians On Top

SEE ALSO: Major League Executive Of The Year
In his fourth year with the team, Terry Francona guided the Indians into the Fall Classic and nearly into the winner’s circle.

Part of what helped push the Indians over the edge this year was Francona’s willingness to buck tradition. When the team acquired Andrew Miller from the Yankees at midseason, it would have been easy to plug him into the ninth and keep him there. In the postseason, however, Francona freestyled.

He used the nearly unhittable Miller whenever the situation dictated, and the results were nearly perfect. With a few key moves, Francona nearly put his team on top.

Major League Manager Of The Year
1998 Larry Dierker, Astros
1999 Jimy Williams, Red Sox
2000 Dusty Baker, Giants
2001 Lou Piniella, Mariners
2002 Mike Scioscia, Angels
2003 Jack McKeon, Marlins
2004 Bobby Cox, Braves
2005 Ozzie Guillen, White Sox
2006 Jim Leyland, Tigers
2007 Terry Francona, Red Sox
2008 Ron Gardenhire, Twins
2009 Mike Scioscia, Angels
2010 Bobby Cox, Braves
2011 Joe Maddon, Rays
2012 Buck Showalter, Orioles
2013 Clint Hurdle, Pirates
2014 Buck Showalter, Orioles
2015 Joe Maddon, Cubs
2016 Terry Francona, Indians

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone