Schrage Leaves South Dakota State For Butler

South Dakota State head coach Dave Schrage resigned Tuesday to take the same position at Butler.

Schrage, South Dakota State’s head coach for the past five seasons, said he made the decision to move closer to his three children.

“I thoroughly enjoyed my time at SDSU and appreciate the opportunity provided by (SDSU athletics director) Justin Sell,” Schrage said in a news release. “(My wife) Kay and I have loved being a part of the Brookings community, but this decision allows us to be closer to our children, with all three living in Indiana. This program is in great hands, and it will continue to move forward.”

Schrage replaces Steve Farley, who had been the Bulldogs coach since 1992 and is the winningest coach in program history. But Farley, who received the 2011 Ethics in Coaching award from the American Baseball Coaches Association, hadn’t produced a winning record since 2003, and the Bulldogs announced in late May they would not retain Farley after a 14-40 season

Schrage posted a 136-144-1 record with the Jackrabbits and is 732-806-2 in 28 seasons of head coaching experience. Before SDSU, Schrage was the head coach at Notre Dame from 2007-10, and he also coached at Evansville, Northern Illinois, Northern Iowa and Waldorf (Iowa).

“After a thorough search of an impressive applicant field, we are very pleased to welcome Dave Schrage as Butler’s new head baseball coach,” Butler athletics director Barry Collier said in a release. “Throughout the interview process and in conversations with those who have known him over the years, we learned that Dave embodies the ideals found in The Butler Way, and will be a great ambassador for Butler and mentor to our student-athletes.

“Dave brings experience as the head coach at five Midwest Division I programs, and he has the enthusiasm and vision to build a winning program at Butler.”

School Departures Arrivals
Alabama Mitch Gaspard Greg Goff
Alabama State Mervyl Melendez
Appalachian State Billy Jones
Army Matt Reid Jim Foster
Butler Steve Farley Dave Schrage
Florida International Turtle Thomas Mervyl Melendez
Furman Ron Smith
Jacksonville Tim Montez Chris Hayes
Kentucky Gary Henderson Nick Mingione
Lamar Jim Gilligan (ret.) Will Davis
Liberty Jim Toman
Louisiana Tech Greg Goff Lane Burroughs
Missouri Tim Jamieson Steve Bieser
Northwestern State Lane Burroughs Bobby Barbier
Purdue Doug Schreiber Mark Wasikowski
San Jose State Dave Nakama
SIU-Edwardsville Tony Stoecklin Sean Lyons
Texas Augie Garrido David Pierce
Tulane David Pierce
Villanova Joe Godri
Youngstown State Steve Gillispie Dan Bertolini

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone