MLB Announces 2020 Postseason Schedule, Including Neutral-Site World Series

Major League Baseball announced Tuesday that the majority of the 2020 playoffs will be held at neutral sites in an attempt to prevent a COVID-19 outbreak during the postseason.

The best-of-three wild card series will be hosted by the higher seed in its respective matchup. After that, the playoffs will shift to neutral sites for the first time in MLB history.

The best-of-five American League Division Series will be played in Los Angeles and San Diego. The best-of-seven AL Championship series will be held in San Diego.



The best-of-five National Division Series will be played in Houston and Arlington, Texas. The best-of-seven NL Championship Series will be held in Arlington.

The World Series will begin Oct. 20, with all games in Arlington at the Rangers’ Globe Life Field. 

Teams will not receive any off days during the Wild Card series, Division Series or Championship series, although they will have at least one day off between the start of each round. Teams will receive off days after Games 2 and 5 of the World Series.




The Wild Card series begin Sept. 29 in the AL and Sept. 30 for the NL and will feature eight teams in each league after MLB and the player’s union agreed to expand the postseason field before the season.

The Division Series begin Oct. 5 (AL) and Oct. 6 (NL) and the Championship Series will begin Oct. 11 (AL) and Oct. 12 (NL).

The World Series will end no later than Oct. 28.

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone