BA Newsletter: Get Analysis, Rankings Delivered To Your Inbox!

Julio Rodriguez Wins Baseball America's 2022 MLB Rookie of the Year

Julio Rodriguez Photo By Lachlan Cunningham Getty Images)
Julio Rodriguez (Photo by Lachlan Cunningham/Getty Images)

Mariners outfielder Julio Rodriguez is Baseball America’s 2022 Major League Rookie of the Year, becoming the first Mariner to ever win the award.

Rodriguez has hit .280/.342/.502 with 27 home runs and 25 stolen bases for Seattle this year. The 21-year-old's power and hitting ability has long been hinted at by his excellent production during his minor league career, but notably, he’s also gotten faster and faster. An average runner when he signed, Rodriguez adjusted to center field late in his minor league career. This year, he became the Mariners’ everyday center fielder while showing plus-plus speed.

Rodriguez is the cover subject of the next issue of Baseball America, which will include stories on our Major League Player of the Year, Minor League Player of the Year, Minor League Pitcher of the Year and MLB Rookie of the Year, as well as pieces on other players who came close to winning those awards.

People who want to purchase copies of the next issue can purchase them now.

Baseball America picks one Rookie of the Year for all of Major League Baseball each year. Our Rookie of the Year is weighted heavily toward production in a player's rookie season, but we also do attempt to slightly weigh future potential as part of the award as well.

Previous winners include Albert Pujols, Derek Jeter, Justin Verlander, Shohei Ohtani and Ronald Acuna.

A complete list of Baseball America’s Rookie of the Year winners is included below.

Rookie Of The Year
1989Gregg Olson, RHP, Orioles
1990Sandy Alomar Jr., C, Indians
1991Jeff Bagwell, 1B, Astros
1992Pat Listach, SS, Brewers
1993Mike Piazza, C, Dodgers
1994Raul Mondesi, OF, Dodgers
1995Hideo Nomo, RHP, Dodgers
1996Derek Jeter, SS, Yankees
1997Nomar Garciaparra, SS, Red Sox
1998Kerry Wood, RHP, Cubs
1999Carlos Beltran, OF, Royals
2000Rafael Furcal, SS/2B, Braves
2001Albert Pujols, OF/3B/1B, Cardinals
2002Eric Hinske, 3B, Blue Jays
2003Brandon Webb, RHP, Diamondbacks
2004Khalil Greene, SS, Padres
2005Huston Street, RHP, Athletics
2006Justin Verlander, RHP, Tigers
2007Ryan Braun, 3B, Brewers
2008Geovany Soto, C, Cubs
2009Andrew McCutchen, OF, Pirates
2010Jason Heyward, OF, Braves
2011Jeremy Hellickson, RHP, Rays
2012Mike Trout, OF, Angels
2013Jose Fernandez, RHP, Marlins
2014Jose Abreu, 1B, White Sox
2015Kris Bryant, 3B, Cubs
2016Corey Seager, SS, Dodgers
2017Aaron Judge, OF, Yankees
2018Shohei Ohtani, RHP/DH, Angels
2019Pete Alonso, 1B, Mets
2020Tony Gonsolin, RHP, Dodgers
2021Jonathan India, 2B, Reds
2022Julio Rodriguez, OF, Mariners
Francisco Lindor

Puerto Rico Beats Dominican Republic To Advance, But Loses Edwin Diaz To Injury

Puerto Rico beat the Dominican Republic, 5-2, to advance to the World Baseball Classic quarterfinals, but closer Edwin Diaz was injured in the postgame celebration.

of Free Stories Remaining