Fernando Tatis Jr., Keibert Ruiz Highlight Texas League All-Stars

Image credit: (Photo by Andy Hayt/Getty Images)

The Texas League on Wednesday announced the rosters for its all-star game and, boy, are they dazzling. Each division contains a Top 25 prospect, as ranked in the latest incarnation of Baseball America’s Top 100 Prospects list, and there are plenty of other complementary studs.

Dodgers catcher Keibert Ruiz, who checks in at No. 24 on the Top 100, highlights the North Division. Even after slumping a bit in June, Ruiz has more than held his own at 19 years old in the Texas League. The switch-hitter has struck out in just 10 percent of his plate appearances and has socked six home runs in his first taste of the upper levels.

Ruiz is joined on the North roster by Mariners outfielder Braden Bishop, who has traded stolen bases for home runs this year in a return to the Texas League. Bishop, the Mariners’ third-round pick in 2015, has clubbed seven home runs in 2018, which accounts for nearly half of his career longballs. Overall, he’s hitting .297/.370/.442 with Arkansas.

Fernando Tatis Jr., ranked by BA as the No. 8 prospect in the sport, is the clear gem on the South roster. After a tough April, Tatis has rounded into form by hitting .342/.428/.615 with 14 doubles, eight home runs and 23 RBIs since May 1.

Tatis is joined by teammate Austin Allen Jr., who boasts a .600 slugging percentage this year and is second in the TL (behind fellow all-star Victor Roache) with 14 home runs. Allen also leads the TL with a 34.4 percent rate of cutting down attempted basestealers.

The South’s outfield also contains Astros prospect Myles Straw, who leads the minor leagues with 35 stolen bases. Straw is also getting on base at a .421 clip, which has given him plenty of opportunity to utilize his top-end speed.

Three of the league’s top strikeout pitchers—Logan Allen (San Antonio), Cal Quantrill (San Antonio) and Cionel Perez (Corpus Christi)—are slated to pitch in the game as well.

The 2018 Texas League all-star game is scheduled for Tuesday, June 26 at Security Bank Ballpark, home of the Midland RockHounds.


Yadier Alvarez — RHP, Tulsa
Nathan Bannister — RHP, Arkansas
Chase De Jong — RHP, Arkansas
Justin DeFratus — RHP, Tulsa
Chris Ellis — RHP, Springfield
Conner Greene — RHP, Springfield
Foster Griffin — LHP, Northwest Arkansas
Johendi Jiminian — RHP, Arkansas
Connor Jones — RHP, Springfield
Jake Newberry — RHP, Northwest Arkansas
Jake Woodford — RHP, Springfield

Nick Dini — Northwest Arkansas
Keibert Ruiz — Tulsa

Joey Curletta — 1B, Arkansas
Tommy Edman — 3B, Springfield
Jecksson Flores — 3B, Northwest Arkansas
Drew Jackson — 2B, Tulsa
Connor Joe — 3B, Tulsa
Nicky Lopez — SS, Northwest Arkansas
Chris Mariscal — 2B, Arkansas
Erick Mejia — 2B, Northwest Arkansas

Braden Bishop — Arkansas
Elier Hernandez — Northwest Arkansas
Victor Hernandez — Springfield
Lane Thomas — Springfield


Logan Allen — LHP, San Antonio
Wes Benjamin — LHP, Frisco
Ryan Hartman — LHP, Corpus Christi
Ariel Jurado — RHP, Frisco
Jesus Luzardo — LHP, Midland
Corbin Martin — RHP, Corpus Christi
Richelson Pena — RHP, Frisco
Cionel Perez — LHP, Corpus Christi
Cal Quantrill — RHP, San Antonio
Rowan Wick — RHP, San Antonio
Brad Wieck — LHP, San Antonio

Austin Allen — San Antonio
Sean Murphy — Midland

Randy Cesar — 3B, Corpus Christi
Ty France — 3B, San Antonio
Taylor Jones — 1B, Corpus Christi
Josh Rojas — 2B, Corpus Christi
J.P. Sportman — 2B, Midland
River Stevens — 2B, San Antonio
Fernando Tatis Jr. — SS, San Antonio
Eli White — SS, Midland

Hunter Cole — Frisco
Josh Naylor — San Antonio
Tyler Ramirez — Midland
Myles Straw — Corpus Christi

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone