Correa, Lindor, Baez Among All-Stars Confirmed For WBC

SEE ALSO: WBC Archives

SEE ALSO: 2017 WBC Schedule

Thirty major leaguers have been confirmed as participants in the 2017 World Baseball Classic, 24 of whom are All-Stars, including Puerto Rico’s Carlos Correa, Francisco Lindor and Javier Baez.

Each team is required to submit a proposed final roster to the World Baseball Classic officials on or before Feb. 6.

Among the confirmed players are: Canada’s Russell Martin; Colombia’s Jose Quintana and Julio Teheran; the Dominican Republic’s Adrian Beltre, Dellin Betances, Robinson Canó, Nelson Cruz and Manny Machado; Mexico’s Adrian Gonzalez, Oliver Perez and Roberto Osuna; the Netherlands’ Xander Bogaerts, Jonathan Schoop and Andrelton Simmons; Puerto Rico’s Javier Baez, Carlos Beltran, Carlos Correa, Francisco Lindor and Yadier Molina; the United States’ Chris Archer, Nolan Arenado, Adam Jones, Andrew McCutchen, Buster Posey and Max Scherzer; and Venezuela’s Jose Altuve, Miguel Cabrera, Carlos Gonzalez, Felix Hernandez and Salvador Perez.

Action is set to begin on March 6 in Seoul, South Korea, and two-time champion Japan begins play the next day against Cuba at the Tokyo Dome.

The first round is a round-robin format, with the top two teams at each site advancing to the second round, which will be played at the Tokyo Dome and Petco Park from March 12-16.

The winners and runners-up then advance to the finals at Dodger Stadium from March 20-22.

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone