Burroughs To Louisiana Tech, Barbier Promoted

Northwestern State coach Lane Burroughs resigned his position Monday to become head coach at Louisiana Tech. Following Burroughs’ move, Northwestern State on Tuesday promoted assistant coach Bobby Barbier to head coach.

Burroughs, 43, takes over at Louisiana Tech after spending the last four seasons at Northwestern State. He went 113-113 with the Demons, guiding them to the Southland Conference Tournament in each of the last three seasons. Northwestern State has won at least 19 conference games for three years in a row, the first time it has done that in 28 years in the Southland.

At Louisiana Tech, Burroughs will take over for Greg Goff, who left last week to become Alabama’s new coach.

Barbier, 31, won academic all-American honors as a player at Northwestern State and began his coaching career as a student assistant in 2007 immediately following his playing career. He spent three season on staff at Northwestern State before going to Alabama in 2010, where he worked under Mitch Gaspard, who coached him during his playing days as a Deacon.

Barbier returned to Northwestern State in 2014 and spent the last two seasons as the Deacons’ pitching coach under Burroughs. He said it was unbelievable to take over as the head coach of his alma mater.

“It will be one of the great blessings in my life to have a chance to lead this team,” Barbier said. “I came to school here because of the legacy of coaches that have been at Northwestern State. To be part of that is just incredible. It’s been a great 24 hours for our family.”

School Departures Arrivals
Alabama Mitch Gaspard Greg Goff
Appalachian State Billy Jones
Army Matt Reid
Butler Steve Farley
Florida International Turtle Thomas
Furman Ron Smith
Jacksonville Tim Montez
Kentucky Gary Henderson Nick Mingione
Lamar Jim Gilligan (ret.) Will Davis
Louisiana Tech Greg Goff Lane Burroughs
Missouri Tim Jamieson
Northwestern State Lane Burroughs Bobby Barbier
Purdue Doug Schreiber
San Jose State Dave Nakama
SIU-Edwardsville Tony Stoecklin Sean Lyons
Texas Augie Garrido
Villanova Joe Godri
Youngstown State Steve Gillispie Dan Bertolini

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone