BA 500 Players Headed To College

SEE ALSO: Gators, Vandy Have Had Big Hauls

The passing of the draft signing deadline last Friday lays plain the course of the top unsigned prep players, as they will now head to school this fall.

Below is a chart of all the high school players who ranked in the BA 500 who did not sign pro contracts, sorted by their college commitment.

Alabama prep righthander Tanner Burns, who was No. 38 on the BA 500, was the highest-ranked player not to sign. He was drafted in the 37th round by the Yankees, but will instead uphold his commitment to Auburn. Burns reaches 96 mph with his fastball and pairs it with a plus breaking ball. His professional future is on the mound, but he is also a standout hitter and will be a two-way player for the Tigers.

For the second straight year, the top position player not to sign is a Florida prep shortstop. A year after Drew Mendoza opted to turn down pro ball to play at Florida State, Brady McConnell (No. 39) will head to Florida instead of signing. McConnell joins Burns as the only players ranked in the top 50 not to sign this year, and has the tools to step right into the Gators lineup at shortstop.

Vanderbilt leads all schools with 10 players from the BA 500 in its incoming freshman class. Arizona State brings in seven and Florida has six.

Overall, 136 high school players in the BA 500 did not sign pro contracts, nine more than last year. Of those players, 48 are committed to schools in the Southeastern Conference, accounting for 36 percent of the unsigned BA 500 recruits. Atlantic Coast Conference schools will take in 25 unsigned BA 500 recruits, and the Pac-12 Conference will get 21.

Rank Name, pos. Commitment
325 Sam Praytor, c Alabama
384 Blake Paugh, of/1b Arizona
206 Alika Williams, ss Arizona State
241 Boyd Vander Kooi, rhp Arizona State
252 Zach Hogueisson, of Arizona State
399 Trevor Hauver, ss Arizona State
413 Drew Swift, ss Arizona State
421 Adisyn Coffey, ss Arizona State
436 Spencer Torkelson, of Arizona State
73 Bryce Bonnin, rhp Arkansas
128 Cole Turney, of Arkansas
183 Jackson Rutledge, rhp Arkansas
305 Casey Opitz, c/2b Arkansas
499 Hunter Milligan, lhp Arkansas
38 Tanner Burns, rhp Auburn
114 Steven Williams, c/of Auburn
439 Cody Greenhill, rhp Auburn
451 Eduoard Julien, 2b Auburn
461 Dalton Wingo, of Central Florida
417 Austin Bates, c Chipola (Fla.) JC
139 Spencer Strider, rhp Clemson
215 Kier Meredith, of Clemson
350 Sam Weatherly, lhp Clemson
262 Zach McCambley, rhp Coastal Carolina
482 Tor Sehnert, of Coastal Carolina
454 Steve Mann, of Duke
120 Gavin Williams, rhp East Carolina
158 Spencer Smith, c East Carolina
39 Brady McConnell, ss Florida
88 Tommy Mace, rhp Florida
135 Hunter Ruth, rhp Florida
173 Jack Leftwich, rhp Florida
251 Jordan Butler, lhp Florida
307 Calvin Greenfield, c Florida
328 Matt Golda, ss Florida Atlantic
143 Logan Allen, lhp Florida International
264 Christian Santana, rhp Florida International
407 Gabriel Rodriguez, of Florida International
472 Oraj Anu, of Florida International
106 Shane Drohan, lhp Florida State
109 C.J. Van Eyk, rhp Florida State
310 Cooper Swanson, ss Florida State
402 Reese Albert, of Florida State
406 Austin Pollock, lhp Florida State
164 Emerson Hancock, rhp Georgia
473 Ivan Johnson, ss Georgia
313 Oscar Serratos, ss/rhp Georgia Tech
447 David Duarte, c Grand Canyon
468 D’Mond LaFond, rhp Houston
231 Brad Dobzanski, rhp Kentucky
401 Ben Jordan, rhp Kentucky
445 Kaden Polcovich, ss/2b Kentucky
486 Austin Marozas, rhp Kentucky
82 Daniel Cabrera, of Louisiana State
214 Nick Storz, rhp/1b Louisiana State
226 A.J. Labas, rhp Louisiana State
266 Hayden Cantrelle, ss Louisiana-Lafayette
372 Bobby Miller, rhp Louisville
422 Reid Detmers, lhp Louisville
425 Michael Kirian, lhp Louisville
270 Randy Bednar, of Maryland
76 Chris McMahon, rhp Miami
199 Alex Toral, 1b Miami
329 Gabe Rivera, of Miami
440 Connor Allen, 1b Miami
230 Jesse Franklin, of Michigan
263 Jeff Criswell, rhp Michigan
424 Danny Zimmerman, 1b Michigan
428 Isaiah Paige, rhp Michigan
209 Jordan Fowler, lhp Mississippi
248 Tim Elko, 1b Mississippi
221 Jordan Anderson, of Mississippi State
470 Chad Bryant, rhp Mississippi State
474 Owen Lovell, of Mississippi State
190 Joe Lancellotti, rhp North Carolina
299 Patrick Bailey, c North Carolina State
127 Seth Lonsway, lhp Ohio State
295 Cade Cavalli, rhp Oklahoma
321 Tyler Hardman, 3b Oklahoma
228 Mitchell Stone, lhp Oklahoma State
320 Jonny DeLuca, of Oregon
216 Kevin Abel, rhp Oregon State
488 Brandon McCabe, rhp Palm Beach State (Fla.) JC
388 Adam Kerner, c San Diego
187 Daniel Ritcheson, rhp San Diego State
335 Casey Schmitt, 3b San Diego State
327 Tim Dillard, rhp San Jacinto (Texas) JC
493 Braydon Weyer, rhp Seattle
111 Noah Campbell, ss South Carolina
154 Kyle Jacobsen, of South Carolina
172 Carmen Mlodzinski, rhp South Carolina
201 Logan Chapman, rhp South Carolina
418 Ian Jenkins, of South Carolina
475 Graham Hoffman, rhp South Florida
94 Kyle Hurt, rhp Southern California
259 Ben Ramirez, ss Southern California
456 Jamal O’Guinn, ss Southern California
498 Alex Cornwell, lhp Southern California
337 Carlos Lomeli, rhp St. Mary’s
236 Christian Robinson, of Stanford
288 Nick Brueser, 1b Stanford
487 Zach Daniels, of Tennessee
222 Kamron Fields, of Texas
176 Asa Lacy, lhp Texas A&M
239 Jack Conlon, rhp Texas A&M
293 Zach DeLoach, of Texas A&M
171 Caleb Sloan, rhp Texas Christian
455 Russell Smith, lhp Texas Christian
415 Cordell Dunn, c Texas Tech
404 Trenton Denholm, rhp UC Irvine
442 Cole Percival, rhp UC Riverside
271 Jason Willow, 3b UC Santa Barbara
489 Ben Fariss, rhp/of UC Santa Barbara
62 Garrett Mitchell, of UCLA
380 Sam Glick, lhp UCLA
435 Chase Farrell, rhp UCLA
75 Greg Jones, ss UNC Wilmington
344 Nick Jodway, rhp/3b UNC Wilmington
69 Jake Eder, lhp Vanderbilt
134 Austin Martin, ss Vanderbilt
167 Philip Clarke, c Vanderbilt
213 Tyler Brown, rhp Vanderbilt
242 Jayson Gonzalez, 3b Vanderbilt
275 Joe Gobillot, lhp Vanderbilt
326 Hugh Fisher, lhp Vanderbilt
364 Pat DeMarco, of Vanderbilt
368 Cooper Davis, of Vanderbilt
437 Mason Hickman, rhp Vanderbilt
174 Griff McGarry, rhp Virginia
212 Devin Ortiz, ss/rhp Virginia
224 Andrew Papantonis, ss Virginia
267 Tanner Morris, ss Virginia
443 Michael Ludowig, of/lhp Wake Forest
448 D.J. Poteet, ss Wake Forest
412 Stephen Emanuels, rhp Washington
311 Clayton Keyes, of Washington State

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone