BA Newsletter: Get Analysis, Rankings Delivered To Your Inbox!

All-Time No. 1 Farm Systems

Baseball America has been ranking baseball's best farm systems since 1984, when Dwight Gooden, Ron Darling and Lenny Dykstra led the Mets to the No. 1 spot in the first Organization Talent Rankings. Two years later, they and many others from that system would help the Mets win a World Series.

They would hardly be the first team to have a No. 1 farm system translate to championships. The Blue Jays ranked No. 1 back-to-back years in 1987-88, and would go on to win back-to-back World Series in 1992-93.

The Braves had the top-ranked farm system heading into the 1992, 1994 and 1995 seasons. Helped by staples of those systems like Chipper JonesRyan KleskoJavy Lopez and Mark Wohlers, they would win the franchise's first World Series in Atlanta in 1995.

More recently, the 2011 Royals and 2015 Cubs turned their No. 1 farm systems into World Series banners, through both prospect graduations and trades of top prospects to acquire the final veteran pieces they needed.

Now, the Padres join the ranks as the No. 1 system in the 2019 Baseball America Organization Talent Rankings. It is the first time in franchise history the Padres have been atop the list.

Here is the all-time list of every team ranked No. 1 in Baseball America's Organization Talent Rankings, as well as who some of the top talents were in those systems.

YearNo. 1 TeamNotable Players
2018BravesRonald Acuna, Mike Soroka, Touki Toussaint, Kyle Wright, Austin Riley
2017BravesRonald Acuna, Ozzie Albies, Sean Newcomb, Dansby Swanson, Mike Soroka
2016DodgersCorey Seager, Cody Bellinger, Walker Buehler, Julio Urias, Ross Stripling, Jose Peraza, Austin Barnes
2015CubsKris Bryant, Addison Russell, Kyle Schwarber, Gleyber Torres, Albert Almora, Eloy Jimenez, Jorge Soler, Carl Edwards
2014PiratesGregory Polanco, Jameson Taillon, Josh Bell, Tyler Glasnow, Austin Meadows
2013CardinalsCarlos Martinez, Michael Wacha, Matt Adams, Stephen Piscotty, Trevor Rosenthal, Shelby Miller, Kolten Wong
2012NationalsBryce Harper, Anthony Rendon, Derek Norris, Brad Peacock, Robbie Ray, Michael A. Taylor
2011RoyalsEric Hosmer, Mike Moustakas, Wil Myers, Salvador Perez, Danny Duffy, Mike Montgomery, Yordano Ventura, Jarrod Dyson, Kelvin Herrera
2010RaysJeremy Hellickson, Wade Davis, Matt Moore, Alex Colome, Alex Cobb, Jake McGee, Tim Beckham
2009RangersJustin Smoak, Derek Holland, Elvis Andrus, Neftali Feliz, Martin Perez, Tommy Hunter
2008RaysEvan Longoria, David Price, Wade Davis, Jake McGee, Jeremy Hellickson, Alex Cobb, John Jaso
2007RaysEvan Longoria, Wade Davis, Delmon Young, Jake McGee, Akinori Iwamura, Jeremy Hellickson, Jason Hammel, John Jaso
2006D-backs*Carlos Gonzalez, Stephen Drew, Carlos Quentin, Miguel Montero, Conor Jackson, Chris Carter, Micah Owings, Emilio Bonifacio
2005AngelsErvin Santana, Howie Kendrick, Kendrys Morales, Erick Aybar, Mark Trumbo, Mike Napoli, Joe Saunders
2004BrewersPrince Fielder, J.J. Hardy, Rickie Weeks, Corey Hart, Manny Parra, Jorge De La Rosa, Chris Capuano
2003IndiansVictor Martinez, Cliff Lee, Brandon Phillips, Travis Hafner, Grady Sizemore, Jhonny Peralta, Jeremy Guthrie, Coco Crisp
2002CubsMark Prior, Carlos Zambrano, Dontrelle Willis, Hee Seop Choi, Ryan Theriot
2001White SoxAaron Rowand, Joe Crede, Miguel Olivo, Jon Rauch, Josh Fogg
2000YankeesAlfonso Soriano, Jake Westbrook, Nick Johnson, Juan Rivera, Marcus Thames
1999BravesRafael Furcal, Marcus Giles, Jason Marquis, Odalis Perez, Mark DeRosa
1998MarlinsMark Kotsay, Alex Gonzalez, Ryan Dempster, Antonio Alfonseca, Kevin Millar, Brian Daubach
1997PiratesAramis Ramirez, Jose Guillen, Tony Womack, Kris Benson, Bronson Arroyo, Jason Johnson
1996DodgersPaul Konerko, Chan Ho Park, Todd Hollandsworth, Paul Lo Duca, Karim Garcia, Roger Cedeno
1995BravesChipper Jones, Andruw Jones, Jason Schmidt, Jermaine Dye, Kevin Millwood
1994BravesChipper Jones, Ryan Klesko, Javy Lopez, Jason Schmidt, Kevin Millwood
1993Blue JaysCarlos Delgado, Shawn Green, Alex Gonzalez, Shannon Stewart, Woody Williams, Ed Sprague
1992BravesChipper Jones, Ryan Klesko, Javy Lopez, Vinny Castilla, Jason Schmidt, Mark Wohlers
1991Yankees/Expos/Dodgers**Bernie Williams, Carl Everett (NYY); Rondell White, Wil Cordero (MON); Pedro Martinez, Eric Karros, Raul Mondesi (LAD)
1990RangersJuan Gonzalez, Ivan Rodriguez, Robb Nen, Dean Palmer, Darren Oliver
1989ExposRandy Johnson, Marquis Grissom, Delino DeShields, Wil Cordero, Kent Bottenfield
1988Blue JaysDavid Wells, Pat Hentgen, Todd Stottlemyre, Derek Bell, Glenallen Hill, Mark Whiten
1987Blue JaysFred McGriff, David Wells, Pat Hentgen, Todd Stottlemyre, Glenallen Hill, Mark Whiten, Jose Mesa
1986AthleticsMark McGwire, Jose Canseco, Walt Weiss, Tim Belcher, Terry Steinbach, Stan Javier, Luis Polonia
1985MetsLenny Dykstra, Randy Myers, Rick Aguilera, Dave Magadan, Jose Oquendo
1984MetsDwight Gooden, Ron Darling, Lenny Dykstra, Kevin Mitchell, Sid Fernandez, Rick Aguilera

*Justin Upton had not yet signed and thus was not among the players considered in the 2006 D-backs system.

**In 1991 Baseball America issued letter grades for each team's farm system instead of a ranking. The Yankees, Expos and Dodgers were the three clubs that received an "A".

Chipper Andruw Jones Steveschaefferafpgetty

All-Time Baseball America No. 1 Farm Systems

Here is the all-time list of every team ranked No. 1 in Baseball America's Organization Talent Rankings, as well as some of the top talents in those systems.

Are you a member?

In order to access this exclusive content you must have a Baseball America Account. 

Login or sign up  

Additionally, you can subscribe to Baseball America's newsletter and receive all of our rankings, analysis, prospect insight & more delivered to your inbox every day. Click here to get started. 

of Free Stories Remaining