A.J. Hinch Guides Astros To Promised Land

A wide range of experiences prepared A.J. Hinch for this moment.

After seven seasons playing in the majors, four years as a farm director with the Diamondbacks, three years as a pro scouting director with the Padres, and two years as a manager with the D-backs, Hinch saw the game through just about every lens. He took everything he learned with him to Houston, and pressed all the right buttons to guide the Astros to their first World Series championship. He is the 2017 Baseball America Major League Manager of the Year.



“The goal was always to have a full understanding of how the organization operates,” Hinch said prior to Game Three of the World Series. “I know when players struggle, when players have success, when an organization has success. I guess there is just a culture way to build off that as an organization.

“I think more than anything I have an appreciation of what it takes to get here. To be able to tie it all together at this level and have appreciation for the people that helped us get here…it’s part of my story, my journey.”

The culture Hinch built was felt by his players, and one they fed off of en route to 101 wins in the regular season and Game Seven victories in both the American League Championship Series and the World Series.

“His unwavering confidence in us really sets the tone for our team,” third baseman Alex Bregman said after winning Game Five of the World Series with a walkoff RBI single. “And his belief in his players makes his players want to run through a wall for him.”

Major League Manager Of The Year 1998 Larry Dierker, Astros 1999 Jimy Williams, Red Sox 2000 Dusty Baker, Giants 2001 Lou Piniella, Mariners 2002 Mike Scioscia, Angels 2003 Jack McKeon, Marlins 2004 Bobby Cox, Braves 2005 Ozzie Guillen, White Sox 2006 Jim Leyland, Tigers 2007 Terry Francona, Red Sox 2008 Ron Gardenhire, Twins 2009 Mike Scioscia, Angels 2010 Bobby Cox, Braves 2011 Joe Maddon, Rays 2012 Buck Showalter, Orioles 2013 Clint Hurdle, Pirates 2014 Buck Showalter, Orioles 2015 Joe Maddon, Cubs 2016 Terry Francona, Indians 2017 A.J. Hinch, Astros

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone