“A quick story on Jake. One of our former players–Pat Presley–came through. He started for us for four years at shortstop. He has some young children now, around 10-12 years of age. Towards the end of the year we finished a ball game, and they came in the dugout after our game was over and asked Jake, ‘Would you please sign our hats.’ And Jake said, ‘I’ll tell you what, I’ll sign your stuff, but first you have to sign mine.’

“He’d have every right to have a big ego, but he has none whatsoever. He’s just an unbelievable player.”

In addition to Taylor and Sparks, who led Shawnee with 12 home runs, the Wolves got a tremendous season out of junior Kade Self, who led the team in both slugging (.947) and on-base percentage (.629), while walking 34 times and striking out just 13.

For the season, Shawnee outscored their opponents 495-117, including a 12-7 win against Claremore (Okla.) High in the championship game.

“I just feel very blessed,” Boyer said. “What a great opportunity for me to coach a great group of kids. I’m very, very proud of this group. It’s just hard to put into words.”

After the season, Boyer walked away from his head coaching job and took over as Shawnee’s athletic director, where he’ll have the opportunity to impact many more student-athletes. He’ll miss the relationships with his players, and the coaches he’s become friends with, but Boyer is leaving behind a legitimate high school dynasty. And what could be better than that?

“(My wife and I) sat down and talked a lot about it, prayed about it,” Boyer said. “We just felt like it couldn’t be better timing. You win three straight championships, you win 40 in a row to end the year.

“That’s the storybook ending.”

Team Of The Year
1992 Westminster Christian HS, Miami
1993 Greenway HS, Phoenix
1994 Sarasota (Fla.) HS
1995 Germantown (Tenn.) HS
1996 Westminster Christian HS, Miami
1997 Jesuit HS, Tampa
1998 Vestavia Hills (Ala.) HS
1999 Lassiter HS, Marietta, Ga.
2000 Gloucester Catholic HS, Gloucester City, N.J.
2001 Seminole (Fla.) HS
2002 Elkins HS, Missouri City, Texas
2003 Chatsworth (Calif.) HS
2004 Chatsworth (Calif.) HS
2005 Russell County HS, Seale, Ala.
2006 The Woodlands (Texas) HS
2007 Wilson HS, Long Beach, Calif.
2008 American Heritage HS, Plantation, Fla.
2009 Bishop Gorman HS, Las Vegas
2010 Flanagan HS, Pembroke Pines, Fla.
2011 Archbiship McCarthy HS, Southwest Ranches, Fla.
2012 Parkview HS, Lilburn, Ga.
2013 Harvard-Westlake HS, Studio City, Calif.
2014 Barbe HS, Lake Charles, La.
2015 Parkview HS, Lilburn, Ga.
2016 Stoneman Douglas HS, Parkland, Fla.
2017 Shawnee (Okla.) HS