League Top 20 Prospects

California League Top 20 Prospects

Follow me on Twitter

See also: California League Top 20 Prospects With Scouting Reports Premium
See also: California League Top 20 Prospects Chat Premium

1. Tyler Skaggs, lhp, Visalia Rawhide (Diamondbacks)
2. Jedd Gyorko, 3b, Lake Elsinore Storm (Padres)
3. Gary Brown, of, San Jose Giants
4. Zack Wheeler, rhp, San Jose Giants
5. Jonathan Singleton, 1b, Lancaster Jethawks (Astros)
6. Nolan Arenado, 3b, Modesto Nuts (Rockies)
7. Michael Choice, of, Stockton Ports (Athletics)
8. Allen Webster, rhp, Rancho Cucamonga Quakes (Dodgers)
9. Chad Bettis, rhp, Modesto Nuts (Rockies)
10. Yasmani Grandal, c, Bakersfield Blaze (Reds)
11. Tommy Joseph, c, San Jose (Giants)
12. Nick Franklin, ss/2b, High Desert (Mariners)
13. Jean Segura, ss, Inland Empire (Angels)
14. Reymond Fuentes, of, Lake Elsinore (Padres)
15. Jose Altuve, 2b, Lancaster (Astros)
16. Matt Davidson, 1b/3b, Visalia (Diamondbacks)
17. Chris Dominguez, 3b, San Jose (Giants)
18. Johnny Hellweg, rhp, Inland Empire (Angels)
19. Chris Owings, ss, Visalia (Diamondbacks)
20. Kent Matthes, of, Modesto (Rockies)
The high Class A California League had an obvious top prospect in the previous two seasons, when Buster Posey (2009) and Mike Trout (2010) ran away from the field. The battle for No. 1 honors was more competitive this year, with Visalia lefthander Tyler Skaggs, Lake Elsinore third baseman Jedd Gyorko and San Jose outfielder Gary Brown all receiving strong support. With his combination of stuff and polish, Skaggs ultimately got the nod.

Brown's Giants appeared on their way to a third straight championship after going 51-19 in the first half, 13 games better than any other club. San Jose tied for the league high with four Top 20 Prospects but wasn't the same team after third baseman Chris Dominguez was promoted and righthander Zack Wheeler was traded. The Giants still led the league with 90 regular-season victories, but they won just once in the playoffs.

Though Gyorko was long gone, the Storm captured its first outright title since 1996. Former first-round pick Nick Schmidt allowed three earned runs in three postseason starts and won the clincher in each of the final two rounds.