Coach Of The Year

Mike Fox makes third straight trip to Omaha

DURHAM, N.C.—For leading North Carolina to its third straight College World Series appearance, including this season with a 54-14 record, Mike Fox earned Baseball America's Coach of the Year Premium award.

A North Carolina alumnus, Fox played in Omaha in 1978 and now has led the Tar Heels to three straight CWS appearances. They have gone 11-7 in CWS play in that time, with a pair of runner-up finishes and a third-place tie this season. North Carolina had made just four CWS appearances previously.

Amazingly, Fox is the first coach from an Atlantic Coast Conference school to win BA's award, which originated in 1981. Current Miami coach Jim Morris won the award in 1994 but the Hurricanes were not a member of the ACC at that time.


1981—Ron Fraser, Miami

1982—Gene Stephenson, Wichita State

1983—Barry Shollenberger, Alabama

1984—Augie Garrido, Cal State Fullerton

1985—Ron Polk, Mississippi State

1986—Skip Bertman, Louisiana State

           Dave Snow, Loyola Marymount

1987—Mark Marquess, Stanford

1988—Jim Brock, Arizona State

1989—Dave Snow, Long Beach State

1990—Steve Webber, Georgia

1991—Jim Hendry, Creighton

1992—Andy Lopez, Pepperdine

1993—Gene Stephenson, Wichita State

1994—Jim Morris, Miami

1995—Rod Delmonico, Tennessee

1996—Skip Bertman, Louisiana State

1997—Jim Wells, Alabama

1998—Pat Murphy, Arizona State

1999—Wayne Graham, Rice

2000—Ray Tanner, South Carolina

2001—Dave Van Horn, Nebraska

2002—Augie Garrido, Texas

2003—George Horton, Cal State Fullerton

2004—David Perno, Georgia

2005—Rick Jones, Tulane

2006—Pat Casey, Oregon State

2007—Dave Serrano, UC Irvine