Join Today! Become A Baseball America Insider

USA Baseball Announces 2019 College National Team Roster

Arizona State first baseman Spencer Torkelson

USA Baseball announced the 2019 roster for the College National Team (CNT) Monday night, just ahead of the eighth annual series against the Cuban National Team.

Three members of the 2019 CNT return from the 2018 roster, including Arizona State first baseman Spencer Torkelson, North Carolina State catcher Patrick Bailey and Minnesota righthander Max Meyer.

The roster also includes six of the top 10 college players in the 2020 draft class, including Torkelson (No. 1), Bailey (4), Georgia righthander Cole Wilcox (5), Texas A&M lefthander Asa Lacy (6), Louisville lefthander Reid Detmers (8) and Vanderbilt shortstop Austin Martin (9).

2019 All-America members included on the team include Martin (first team), Torkelson (second team) and Mississippi State second baseman Justin Foscue (third team).

USA Baseball's Collegiate National Team will play a five-game series against Cuba from July 2 through July 6 in various ballparks in North Carolina before heading to Taiwan for a five-game series against Chinese Taipei (July 9-July 12). Team USA will then head to Japan for a five-game series against the Japanese National Team (July 16-July 21) to complete its summer schedule.

While winning games is the obvious goal for the club, the CNT also serves as a preview for the top of next year's college class. The 2018 CNT featured seven players who went on to be selected in the first round—Adley RutschmanAndrew VaughnJosh JungShea LangeliersBryson StottWill WilsonBraden Shewmake—and the 2019 group looks to be stronger than last year's crop in terms of pitching talent. It's likely that several of the players listed below will go on to be first-round picks next June.

The full roster is listed below:


Andrew Abbott, LHP, Virginia

Logan Allen, LHP, Florida International

Tyler Brown, RHP, Vanderbilt

Burl Carraway, LHP, Dallas Baptist

Cade Cavalli, RHP, Oklahoma

Jeff Criswell, RHP, Michigan

Reid Detmers, LHP, Louisville

Nick Frasso, RHP, Loyola Marymount

Asa Lacy, LHP, Texas A&M

Chris McMahon, RHP, Miami

Cole Wilcox, RHP, Georgia


Tanner Allen, INF/OF, Mississippi State

Patrick Bailey, C, North Carolina State

Colton Cowser, OF, Sam Houston State

Justin Foscue, INF/OF, Mississippi State

Heston Kjerstad, OF, Arkansas

Nick Loftin, INF, Baylor

Austin Martin, UTL, Vanderbilt

Garrett Mitchell, OF, UCLA

Casey Opitz, C, Arkansas

Spencer Torkelson, INF, Arizona State

Luke Waddell, INF, Georgia Tech

Alika Williams, INF, Arizona State

Two-Way Players

Alec Burleson, LHP/1B, East Carolina

Max Meyer, RHP/OF, Minnesota

Doug Nikhazy, LHP/OF, Mississippi


College Podcast: 2019 Signing Day Special

Texas coach David Pierce, Arkansas coach Dave Van Horn and Mississippi State coach Chris Lemonis join the podcast.

Are you a member?

In order to access this exclusive content you must have a Baseball America Account. 

Login or sign up  

of Free Stories Remaining