Small College Championship Roundup

West Chester (Pa.) celebrated its second national championship in the last six years after sweeping through the Division II College World Series. (Michael Ainsworth/Getty Images)

West Chester (Pa.) coach Jad Prachniak came into the 2017 NCAA Division II College World Series, held in Grand Prairie, Texas, unbeaten in the CWS. He left the same way. Prachniak, who won a national championship in his first year with West Chester in 2012, helped guide the Golden Rams to their second title in six years.

West Chester won all four of its games at the CWS, beating UC San Diego, 5-2, in the title game. Golden Rams closer Josh McClain allowed one run in four innings of relief in the championship game and went 2-0, 1.86 to win the tournament’s most outstanding player award.

UC San Diego righthander Kyle Goodbrand dominated in the tournament. He tossed a complete-game shutout in UC San Diego’s 10-0 semifinal win and allowed six hits and struck out six in 11 scoreless innings overall.


California Lutheran won the final two games of the championship series in Appleton, Wis., to earn its first championship. Tournament MVP Miguel Salud pitched the final three innings to close out the title game and earn his 14th save of the season. Salud had three saves in four CWS appearances, striking out nine in 7.1 innings.


Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) continued its dominance of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics by capturing its third straight title. It was the Warriors’ 19th national title, which leads all NAIA programs.

The host Warriors, who came into the tournament as the No. 5 seed, defeated No. 2 Faulkner (Ala.), 6-4, in the championship game in Lewiston, Idaho, in a rematch of last year’s final.


Chipola (Fla.) JC team claimed its first national championship since 2007 with a 15-6 champoinship victory over San Jacinto (Texas) JC in Grand Junction, Colo. Chipola had previously lost to San Jac, causing it to fall into the losers’ bracket, but the Indians’ offense proved unstoppable. Chipola scored 85 runs in the tournament, six more than the previous record of 79 set by Southern Idaho JC in 1984.


After losing in its first game of the Series in Enid, Okla., Kankakee (Ill.) JC rattled off six straight wins to grab its first national title. Kankakee used a seven-run fifth inning to take down Mercer County (N.J.) JC, 11-5, in the championship game.

Tyler (Texas) JC cruised to its fourth straight national championship, defeating Niagara County (N.Y.) JC, 5-1, in the final in Greeneville, Tenn. The Apaches outscored opponents 25-9 in four games.


Grossmont JC won its first state championship with a 10-6 win against defending state champ Santa Rosa JC in the California Community College Athletic Association title game in Fresno.


Lower Columbia (Wash.) JC captured its second Northwest CC title in the past three years. The Red Devils now have 12 baseball championships.

Comments are closed.

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone