Shohei Ohtani Wins 2023 Baseball America MLB Player Of The Year


Image credit: Shohei Ohtani (Photo by Loren Elliott/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

When Shohei Ohtani was named Baseball America’s Major League Player of the Year in 2021, he was the choice because he proved that what was thought to be impossible was obtainable.

Two years later, Ohtani is once again Baseball America’s Major League Player of the Year after he managed to top his 2021 and 2022 seasons, despite missing almost the entire final month of the season with elbow and oblique injuries.

Better Than Babe?

Ohtani turned in another transcendent season to win 2023 MLB Player of the Year honors.

Ohtani led the American League with 44 home runs, 78 extra-base hits, 325 total bases, a .412 on-base percentage and a .654 slugging percentage. He was fourth in the league with a .304 batting average. He also went 10-5, 3.14 on the mound in 132 innings pitched as he held opponents to a .184 batting average.

Making History

Ohtani also becomes only the fourth player to win two or more Baseball America’s MLB Player of the Year honors. Ohtani’s Angels’ teammate Mike Trout is a four-time winner. Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds each won the award three times. The Angels have now had six POY awardees between Trout and Ohtani.

Baseball America has awarded the Major League Player of the Year award since 1998. The award is given to one player across both the American and National League, and is chosen based on the individual player’s performance. While helping a team to the playoffs can help bolster a player’s case, outstanding players on poor teams are not penalized for their team’s lack of success.

You can purchase your commemorative issue to celebrate Ohtani’s achievement here.

A complete list of past winners is included below.

Player Of The Year
1998Mark McGwire, 1B, Cardinals
1999Pedro Martinez, RHP, Red Sox
2000Alex Rodriguez, SS, Mariners
2001Barry Bonds, OF, Giants
2002Alex Rodriguez, SS, Rangers
2003Barry Bonds, OF, Giants
2004Barry Bonds, OF, Giants
2005Albert Pujols, 1B, Cardinals
2006Johan Santana, LHP, Twins
2007Alex Rodriguez, 3B, Yankees
2008C.C. Sabathia, LHP, Indians/Brewers
2009Joe Mauer, C, Twins
2010Roy Halladay, RHP, Phillies
2011Matt Kemp, OF, Dodgers
2012Mike Trout, OF, Angels
2013Mike Trout, OF, Angels
2014Clayton Kershaw, LHP, Dodgers
2015Bryce Harper, OF, Nationals
2016Mike Trout, OF, Angels
2017Jose Altuve, 2B, Astros
2018Mike Trout, OF, Angels
2019Justin Verlander, RHP, Astros
2020Freddie Freeman, 1B, Braves
2021Shohei Ohtani, DH/RHP, Angels
2022Aaron Judge, OF, Yankees
2023Shohei Ohtani, DH/RHP, Angels

Download our app

Read the newest magazine issue right on your phone