BA Newsletter: Get Analysis, Rankings Delivered To Your Inbox!

Boras Baseball Classic Announces 16-Team Southern Field

The Boras Foundation announced the 16-team field of high school programs that will compete in the Southern Section of the 2019 Boras Baseball Classic Monday, including reigning Southern Section Champion JSerra High (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.)

The Boras Classic is a defacto California state championship, pitting 16 teams in the southern half of the state against each other to determine a champion that will eventually take on the winner of a 16-team Northern California tournament.

"By far the most loaded field of teams to date, the spring tournament will feature some of the best teams in Southern California," foundation director Scott Boras said in a press release. "With the addition of five new teams and strong returners we are proud to provide a platform for the best players in the state to showcase their skill set to further their education and baseball careers."

The Southern Boras Classic will take place from March 26-29, 2019 and will be hosted by JSerra and Mater Dei (Santa Ana, Calif.), similar to the 2018 tournament.

Below is the complete field of teams for the tournament:

  • Ayala HS, Chino Hills, Calif.
  • Corona (Calif.) HS
  • Cypress (Calif.) HS
  • Etiwanda (Calif.) HS
  • Great Oak HS, Temecula, Calif.
  • Huntington Beach (Calif.) HS
  • JSerra HS, San Juan Capistrano, Calif.
  • La Mirada (Calif.) HS
  • Maranatha HS, Pasadena, Calif.
  • Mater Dei HS, Santa Ana, Calif.
  • Mira Costa HS, Manhattan Beach, Calif.
  • Notre Dame HS, Sherman Oaks, Calif.
  • Orange (Calif.) Lutheran HS
  • Rancho Bernardo HS, San Diego
  • Simi Valley (Calif.) HS
  • Yucaipa (Calif.) HS

Notable 2019 players in the tournament include RHP Christian Bodlovich (Mira Costa), RHP Hunter Cope (Mater Dei), RHP Hunter Cranton (JSerra), SS Michael Curialle (JSerra), RHP Cole Dale (Maranatha), RHP Andrew Devine (Simi Valley), OF Jasiah Dixon (Orange-Lutheran), SS Cody Freeman (Etiwanda), LHP Joshua Hahn (Huntington Beach), RHP Marcus Johnson (Etiwanda), 1B Joseph Naranjo (Ayala), C Darius Perry (La Mirada), OF Elias Rios (Cypress) and C C.J. Rodriguez (Mater Dei).

The Boras Foundation also recently announced the field of the Arizona-based edition of the event. Find that complete 16-team field and the details of the 2019 Arizona Boras Classic here.


'Ultimate Baseball Championship' Rosters Feature 37 Top 100 Draft Prospects

Find the rosters + top names for each of the eight teams participating.

Are you a member?

In order to access this exclusive content you must have a Baseball America Account. 

Login or sign up  

of Free Stories Remaining