BA Newsletter: Get Analysis, Rankings Delivered To Your Inbox!

2019 MiLB Preview: Buddy Bailey Keeps On Winning

Buddy Bailey begins the 2019 season as the lone minor league manager with more than 2,000 career wins. The 62-year-old began his managing career in Pulaski of the Appalachian League in 1983, where his team went 46-26 to finish second in the league. Winning has come regularly to Bailey. He’s skippered a team with a winning record in 21 of his 30 seasons. Bailey is 463 victories behind the minors all-time managerial wins leader—Stan Wasiak, who managed from 1950 to 1986.

Here are the winningest minor league managers who were active in 2018. They are listed with their 2019 organizations.

Manager (Org) Wins

1. Buddy Bailey (CHC) 2,067
2. Tom Kotchman (BOS) 1,874
3. Rick Sweet (MIL) 1,951
4. Pat Kelly (CIN) 1,704
5. Tony DeFrancesco (NYM) 1,668
6. Randy Ingle* 1,583
7. Dennis Holmberg (TOR) 1,516
8. Chris Maloney (ATL) 1,417
9. Rocket Wheeler (WAS) 1,411
10. Joe Mikulik (TEX) 1,304
11. Brian Poldberg (KC) 1,224
12. Mike Guerrero (MIL) 1,177
13. Kevin Boles (NYM) 1,142
14. Philip Wellman (SD) 1,144
15. Gary Jones (PHI) 1,124
16. Ray Smith (MIN) 1,041
17. Marty Pevey (CHC) 1,048
18. Daren Brown (SEA) 1,024

* Ingle will serve as development supervisor for the Rockies’ low Class A Asheville affiliate this season.


Chicago Cubs 2020-21 International Signing Preview

The Cubs should soon sign one of the most prized international prospects in the 2020 class, plus a look at other players they're expected to land this year.

Are you a member?

In order to access this exclusive content you must have a Baseball America Account. 

Login or sign up  

Additionally, you can subscribe to Baseball America's newsletter and receive all of our rankings, analysis, prospect insight & more delivered to your inbox every day. Click here to get started. 

of Free Stories Remaining