Rising Stars Rosters Named

The Arizona Fall League's annual prospects showcase, the Rising Stars Game, will be played Saturday at 8 p.m. Eastern and broadcast live on MLB Network, and the rosters were released Wednesday.

The East roster has plenty of talent, starting with a trio of Astros prospects—starting pitcher Jarred Cosart, first baseman Jonathan Singleton and right fielder George Springer. Springer has hit three homers and ranks fifth in the AFL with a .423 on-base percentage. The East infield also features the two winners of BA's top amateur awards in 2010, High School Player of the Year Kaleb Cowart (Angels) and College Player of the Year Anthony Rendon (Nationals). Rendon continues to work his way back from a fractured left ankle.

The East outfield also includes speedster Gary Brown (Giants), five-tool talent Brian Goodwin (Nationals) and slugger Corey Dickerson (Rockies).
Both rosters have a prominent infielder-turned-outfielder, with the East featuring Nick Castellanos (Tigers), who moved from third to right field after the all-star break, while the West has stolen base king Billy Hamilton (Reds). After spending all year at shortstop, Hamilton is shifting to center field in the AFL. He has six more steals in the AFL in seven attempts, tied for second in the league, after stealing 155 bases during the regular season.

Hamilton leads a thinner prospect crop on the West roster that includes 2012 College Player of the Year Mike Zunino (Mariners) and Marlins outfielder Christian Yelich (Marlins). Springer's college teammate at Connecticut, Nick Ahmed (Braves), is on the West club, as is 2011 Rising Stars MVP Nick Franklin (Mariners), who has a 1.024 OPS thus far in the AFL. Franklin homered last year off Gerrit Cole (Pirates) en route to the MVP award.

Righthander Kyle Gibson (Twins) is slated to start for the West. The 2009 first-round pick, coming back from Tommy John surgery, had 19 strikeouts and gave up only one run in his first three starts over 13 innings before giving up eight hits and six runs in a two-inning start on Monday.

East Division West Division
Chase Anderson ARI Michael Brady MIA
Aaron Barrett WAS Grant Dayton MIA
Mike Belfiore BAL Kyle Gibson MIN
Victor Black PIT Johnny Hellweg MIL
Jarred Cosart HOU Chase Huchingson NYM
Trey Haley CLE Curtis Partch CIN
Heath Hembree SF James Paxton SEA
Mark Montgomery NYY Kevin Quackenbush SD
Santos Rodriguez CWS C.J. Riefenhauser TB
Coty Woods COL James Simmons OAK
Tony Zych CHC Michael Tonkin MIN
Alex Monsalve CLE Tommy Joseph PHI
Austin Romine NYY Mike Zunino SEA
Corey Dickerson COL Michael Almanzar BOS
David Adams NYY Nick Ahmed ATL
Kaleb Cowart LAA Cody Asche PHI
Ricky Oropesa SF Nick Franklin SEA
Chris Owings ARI Hak-Ju Lee TB
Anthony Rendon WAS Chris McGuiness TEX
Jonathan Schoop BAL Hunter Morris MIL
Jonathan Singleton HOU Kolten Wong STL
Gary Brown SF Bryce Brentz BOS
Nick Castellanos DET Brian Fletcher KC
Brian Goodwin WAS Billy Hamilton CIN
Joc Pederson LAD Rymer Liriano SD
George Springer HOU Christian Yelich MIA