Minor League Transactions: Oct. 4-10

This time: Oct. 4-10

In this installment: 17 players kicked free from 40-man rosters this season elect for free agency. Meanwhile, the Diamondbacks and Royals release more than a dozen players each, many of them signed this summer as nondrafted free agents. Each organization operates three short-season affiliates—Arizona for the first time this summer—thus the need for overstocked inventory. 

Arizona Diamondbacks
RHP Sammy de los Santos, RHP Sean Johnson, RHP Mike Lebo, RHP Jason Postill, RHP Greg Robinson, RHP Drew Zizinia, LHP Johan Jaime, LHP Diony Santana, C Jose Alegria, C Jhoan Pimentel, 1B Ramon Castillo, 1B Joe Weik, SS David Narodowski, OF Westley Moss, OF Roberto Rodriguez
Elected free agency: SS Cody Ransom, OF Ryan Langerhans

Chicago Cubs
Removed from 40-man:
RHP Justin Berg (outrighted to Triple-A), RHP Brian Schlitter (outrighted to Triple-A)
Assigned to Arizona Fall League: RHP Chris Carpenter, RHP Andrew Cashner, RHP Marcus Hatley, RHP Trey McNutt, 2B D.J. LeMahieu, 3B Josh Vitters, SS Junior Lake

Chicago White Sox
LHP Brad Furnish (re-signed), 1B Seth Loman (re-signed), 2B Drew Thompson (re-signed)
Released: RHP Austin Evans, LHP Kevin Rath, C Rafael Vera, 1B Mike Schwartz, 3B Jeffer Patino
Elected free agency: 3B Dallas McPherson

Cincinnati Reds
Elected free agency:
RHP Chad Reineke

Colorado Rockies
Removed from 40-man:
RHP Matt Daley, RHP Jim Miller, RHP Greg Reynolds, RHP Cory Riordan, C Jose Morales, 3B Kevin Kouzmanoff (all six players outrighted to Triple-A)
Elected free agency: RHP Jim Miller, 3B Kevin Kouzmanoff

Detroit Tigers
OF Timo Perez

The Tigers cut Timo Perez after he failed a test for Ritalinic Acid and Methylphenidate. He must serve a 50-game suspension before he can suit up with another affiliated club.

Florida Marlins
Removed from 40-man:
RHP Brian Sanches (outrighted to Triple-A), OF Vinny Rottino (outrighted to Triple-A)
Elected free agency: RHP Brian Sanches, 2B Joe Thurston, OF Vinny Rottino

Houston Astros
Removed from 40-man:
RHP Blake King, RHP Lance Pendleton, LHP Xavier Cedeno (all three players outrighted to Triple-A)
Elected free agency: RHP Lance Pendleton, C Brian Esposito

Kansas City Royals
RHP Ezequiel Amador, RHP Gary Cuevas, RHP Casey Edelbrock, RHP Nathan Johnson, RHP Robbie Penny, LHP Omar Gomez, C Dale Cornstubble, C Paul Krebs, 1B Joey Lewis, 3B Derek Hamblen, SS Gerard Hall, SS Lance Zawadzki, OF Steven Brooks, OF Justin Fradejas, OF Nick Francis, OF Darian Sandford
Elected free agency: RHP Robinson Tejeda

Los Angeles Dodgers
Removed from 40-man:
2B Eugenio Velez (outrighted to Triple-A)
Reinstated from DL: RHP Robert Boothe

Milwaukee Brewers
Elected free agency:
C Mike Rivera

Minnesota Twins
Elected free agency:
RHP Eric Hacker

Philadelphia Phillies
Elected free agency:
C Dane Sardinha

Seattle Mariners
LHP Danny Hultzen*
Assigned to Arizona Fall League: LHP Danny Hultzen

Tampa Bay Rays
RHP Ricky Orta (re-signed)

Texas Rangers
C Elio Sarmiento (re-signed)

Toronto Blue Jays
Removed from 40-man:
LHP Rommie Lewis (outrighted to Triple-A)
Elected free agency: LHP Rommie Lewis, 3B Jayson Nix

Washington Nationals
Assigned to Arizona Fall League:
SS Zach Walters