Minor League President Race Gains Three More Candidates

Minor League Baseball announced three more declared candidates who would like to replace the retiring Mike Moore when he steps down in December.

The Presidential Search Committee will consider David Chase, Phillip Evans and Jeremy Kapstein in addition to the first official candidate, Pat O’Connor, MiLB’s current vice president and chief operating officer. Chase has a long affiliation with the minor leagues, including 18 years with Baseball America (mostly as BA’s publisher). He’s currently president and general manager of the Triple-A Memphis Redbirds, posts he’s held since 2002. Evans is an attorney and former president and director of legal and business affairs for the NBA’s Development League.

Kapstein has the most unique resume of the quartet, having begun his involvement in baseball with a 15-year run as one of the game’s earliest and most prominent agents. Starting in the mid-1970s, he represented the likes of Fred Lynn and Carlton Fisk, among others (he went by “Jerry” back then). He moved to the management side in the late 1980s, working for the Padres, and has worked for the Red Sox since 2002 with the title of senior adviser for baseball projects.