AA Playoff Dish: Travelers Set Record With Texas League Championship


Arkansas 11, Frisco 3 (Arkansas won the best-of-5 series 3-2)

The Arkansas Travelers put up four runs in the top of the third inning last night against Frisco righthander Neftali Feliz. Feliz was pulled from the game, but the Rough Riders couldn’t get back into it and the Travelers put up seven more runs in the top of the sixth to seal the deal and become Texas League champions. Their .443 regular-season winning percentage is the lowest in Texas League history for a championship team. Left fielder Brian Stavinsky, shortstop Wilberto Ortiz and center fielder Coby Smith drove in two runs apiece for the Travelers. The championship is the first for Arkansas since 2001 when the team was declared league champions after the playoffs were cancelled because of the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.