2012 Midwest League Top 20 Prospects

See also: Midwest League Top 20 Prospects With Scouting Reports

See also: Midwest League Top 20 Prospects Chat With Jim Callis

See also: Complete League Top 20 Prospects Schedule


1. Javier Baez, ss, Peoria (Cubs)
2. Miguel Sano, 3b, Beloit (Twins)
3. Francisco Lindor, ss, Lake County (Indians)
4. Archie Bradley, rhp, South Bend (Diamondbacks)
5. Noah Syndergaard, rhp, Lansing (Blue Jays)
6. Aaron Sanchez, rhp, Lansing (Blue Jays)
7. Austin Hedges, c, Fort Wayne (Padres)
8. Kaleb Cowart, 3b, Cedar Rapids (Angels)
9. Matt Wisler, rhp, Fort Wayne (Padres)
10. A.J. Cole, rhp, Burlington (Athletics)
11. Justin Nicolino, lhp, Lansing (Blue Jays)
12. Eddie Rosario, 2b/of, Beloit (Twins)
13. Jorge Bonifacio, of, Kane County (Royals)
14. Tyrell Jenkins, rhp, Quad Cities (Cardinals)
15. Drew Vettleson, of, Bowling Green (Rays)
16. Kyle Smith, rhp, Kane County (Royals)
17. Travis Jankowski, of, Fort Wayne (Padres)
18. Adys Portillo, rhp, Fort Wayne (Padres)
19. Jace Peterson, ss, Fort Wayne (Padres)
20. Stephen Piscotty, 3b, Quad Cities (Cardinals)

The low Class A Midwest League boasted one of the minors’ deepest pools of talent in 2012, and not just because it’s one of the two circuits with 16 teams.

The MWL featured elite sluggers in Peoria shortstop Javier Baez and Beloit third baseman Miguel Sano and future Gold Glovers at up-the-middle positions in Lake County shortstop Francisco Lindor and Fort Wayne catcher Austin Hedges. South Bend righthander Archie Bradley had the most upside on the mound, while Lansing’s Noah Syndegaard, Aaron Sanchez and Justin Nicolino were the league’s most talked-about pitching trio in years. Even the group of players who made cameos and didn’t qualify for this list was outstanding: Kane County righthander Kyle Zimmer, Burlington shortstop Addison Russell and Peoria outfielder Jorge Soler.

Wisconsin captured the championship with the oldest roster in the league and nary a prospect who received strong consideration for this list. The Timber Rattlers won the finals in four games over Fort Wayne, which led all clubs with five prospects among the Top 20.