Pre-Integration Hall Of Fame Ballot Unveiled

Six former big leaguers—most notably Marty Marion, Frank McCormick and Bucky Walters—are among 10 people on the Pre-Integration Era, Hall of Fame ballot to be voted upon Dec. 7 at the Winter Meetings in Nashville.

The Pre-Integration (1876-1946) covers years from baseball’s nascence to just before Jackie Robinson broke the color barrier in 1947.

Doc Adams, Sam Breadon, Bill Dahlen, Wes Ferrell, Garry Herrmann, Marty Marion, Frank McCormick, Harry Stovey, Chris von der Ahe and Bucky Walters are the candidates consideration for Hall of Fame election in 2016. All the candidates are deceased.

A candidate must receive 75 percent of the ballots cast by the 16-member committee and the results will be announced on Jan. 6. The ballot was determined by the 11-member Historical Overview Committee, which includes Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun); Jim Henneman (formerly Baltimore Sun); Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch); Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau); Bill Madden (formerly New York Daily News); Jack O'Connell (BBWAA); Jim Reeves (formerly Fort Worth Star-Telegram); Tracy Ringolsby (; Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle); Dave Van Dyck (Chicago Tribune); and Mark Whicker (Los Angeles News Group).

The 10 candidates for Pre-Integration Era consideration for the Class of 2016:

• Daniel “Doc" Adams was a player in baseball's earliest days who became a pioneering force on a multitude of fronts in baseball's nascent years. Adams, who became a member of the famed Knickerbocker Base Ball Club in 1845, helped standardize the game's tools and contributed to the establishment of the shortstop position.

• Sam Breadon purchased interest in the St. Louis Cardinals in 1917 and took control of the club in 1920. Breadon hired Branch Rickey and created the blueprint for the modern farm system with minor league clubs owned or controlled by the parent club. He presided over nine pennant winners and six World Series championships, include the Gashouse Gang teams of the 1930s and the dynasty teams of the 1940s.

• Bill Dahlen spent 21 seasons in the majors from 1891-1911, playing almost 90 percent of his games at shortstop, compiling a .272 batting average with 84 home runs and 1,234 RBI. He retired in 1911 as the active home run leader with 84 and as the all-time leader in games played (2,444).

• Wes Ferrell pitched for 15 seasons from 1927-1941, compiling a 193-128 record with a 4.04 career ERA. Ferrell won at least 20 games six times and is the only pitcher from the 20th century to win at least 20 games in each of first four full big league seasons.

• August “Garry" Herrmann served as president of the Cincinnati Reds from 1902 to 1927 and chairman of baseball's ruling National Commission from 1903 to 1920. He helped organize the modern World Series.

• Marty Marion spent 13 seasons in the majors, 1940-50, 1952-53, batting .263 with 36 home runs and 624 RBI at shortstop. Was named the 1944 NL MVP Award winner, twice also finishing in the top 10, and was considered one of the best fielding shortstops of his era.

• Frank McCormick was an eight-time All-Star and the 1940 NL Most Valuable Player. A slick-fielding first baseman, McCormick also batted .299 in 13 big league seasons.

• Harry Stovey was a standout outfielder in the National League and the American Association in the 1880s and 1890s, leading his league in home runs five times and runs scored four times.

• Chris von der Ahe owned the original St. Louis Browns franchise—now the Cardinals–from 1881 through 1899. His team won the championship of the American Association—then recognized as a major league—from 1885 through 1888, fielding teams that featured future Hall of Famers Charlie Comiskey and Tommy McCarthy.

• Bucky Walters pitched 19 seasons in the major leagues, from 1934-1950, compiling a 198-160 lifetime record, with a 3.30 era in 428 games/398 starts.