Ortiz, Nine First-Timers Among Silver Slugger Winners

David Ortiz, fresh off a World Series MVP, added more hardware Tuesday as he won his sixth Silver Slugger award. The awards are given annually by Louisville Slugger to the best offensive players at their respective positions.

AL batting champ Miguel Cabrera of the Tigers won his fifth Silver Slugger, as did Yankees 2B Robinson Cano and Twins C Joe Mauer. Nine other players won their first trophy, including AL home run leader Chris Davis of the Orioles and Pittsburgh's Pedro Alvarez, who tied for the NL lead with 36 homers. The Orioles had three winners, while the Cardinals, Pirates and Tigers each had two.

Meanwhile, Rawlings will present Gold Gloves, which were awarded Tuesday, to the winners Friday night at a ceremony at The Plaza Hotel in New York City.

The Royals and Orioles had three winners each of Gold Gloves, while Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won his sixth overall. Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips and Red Sox right fielder Shane Victorino both won their fourth. The full lists of Silver Sluggers and Gold Gloves are below.

Pos Player 2013 Team AVG HR RBIs
1B Chris Davis Baltimore Orioles .286 53 138
2B Robinson Cano New York Yankees .314 27 107
3B Miguel Cabrera Detroit Tigers .348 44 137
SS J.J. Hardy Baltimore Orioles .263 25 76
OF Mike Trout L.A. Angels .323 27 97
OF Torii Hunter Detroit Tigers .304 17 84
OF Adam Jones Baltimore Orioles .285 33 108
C Joe Mauer Minnesota Twins .324 11 47
DH David Ortiz Boston Red Sox .309 30 103
Pos Player 2013 Team AVG HR RBIs
1B Paul Goldschmidt Arizona Diamondbacks .302 36 125
2B Matt Carpenter St. Louis Cardinals .318 11 78
3B Pedro Alvarez Pittsburgh Pirates .233 36 100
SS Ian Desmond Washington Nationals .280 20 80
OF Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh Pirates .317 21 84
OF Michael Cuddyer Colorado Rockies .331 20 84
OF Jay Bruce Cincinnati Reds .262 30 109
C Yadier Molina St. Louis Cardinals .319 12 80
P Zack Greinke Los Angeles Dodgers .328 0 4


C: Salvador Perez (Royals)
1B: Eric Hosmer (Royals)
2B: Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox)
3B: Manny Machado (Orioles)
SS: J.J. Hardy (Orioles)
LF: Alex Gordon (Royals)
CF: Adam Jones (Orioles)
RF: Shane Victorino (Red Sox)
P: R.A. Dickey (Blue Jays)
C: Yadier Molina (Cardinals)
1B: Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks)
2B: Brandon Phillips (Reds)
3B: Nolan Arenado (Rockies)
SS: Andrelton Simmons (Braves)
LF: Carlos Gonzalez (Rockies)
CF: Carlos Gomez (Brewers)
RF: Gerardo Parra (Diamondbacks)
P: Adam Wainwright (Cardinals)