MLB Unveils Committee To Find Selig’s Successor

Owners of seven major league teams are members of a committee tasked with finding a successor to commissioner Bud Selig, Major League Baseball said Thursday.

The committee is chaired by Cardinals owner Bill DeWitt Jr., and includes White Sox owner Jerry Reinsdorf, Phillies CEO Dave Montgomery, Rockies owner Dick Monfort, Angels owner Arte Moreno, Pirates chairman Bob Nutting and Twins CEO Jim Pohlad.

Selig, in office since 1992, has said he will retire by or on Jan. 24.

“I determined last fall that there’s a time to come in life and a time to go, and I had determined it’s the time to go,” Selig told reporters. “There’s no sense playing any games. I know they’ve rehired me four or five times and people kept thinking that was going to happen again, but it’s not.

“A lot of people, including my family, have had difficulty accepting this. But it’s been real to me for a long time. I meant what I said last (fall). I’ve accepted it for the last five or six months.”

The committee, which MLB announced during the owners' quarterly meetings in New York, has set January 2015 for a deadline for finding a replacement for the 79-year-old former Brewers owner.

Members of the committee will not be considered as successors, according to SportsBusiness Journal.

The search committee will deliver recommendations to MLB’s executive council, which will put candidates up for a vote. Approval of 23 of the 30 teams is required to elect a commissioner.

Rob Manfred, baseball’s chief operating officer, is believed to be Selig’s choice, but according to The Los Angeles Times, teams are unwilling to have Selig choose his successor.

“A lot of clubs want to see a search,” one owner told the newspaper, “and they want to see it soon.”