MLB To Name Reliever Awards For Rivera, Hoffman

Major League Baseball announced Wednesday that it is renaming its awards for the best relief pitchers after Mariano Rivera and Trevor Hoffman, who are Nos. 1-2 in saves all-time.

Trevor Hoffman (Photo by Morris Fostoff).

Trevor Hoffman (Photo by Morris Fostoff).

MLB will honor top statistical relievers with the "Mariano Rivera AL Reliever of the Year Award"  and the "Trevor Hoffman NL Reliever of the Year Award."

Rivera, who retired after last season, had 652 saves in his almost-certain Hall of Fame career with the Yankees and was a five-time winner of the Rolaids Relief Award, given from 1976-2012. Hoffman had 601 saves in an illustrious career largely spent with the Padres.

The award will be voted on by nine former closers, including Hoffman and Rivera as well as four Hall of Famers—Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Goose Gossage and Bruce Sutter—and Lee Smith, John Franco and Billy Wagner, all of whom had more than 400 saves.

The nine voters will rank the top three A.L. relief pitchers and the top three N.L. relief pitchers, based solely on regular season performance. Using a 5-3-1 weighted point system (five points for a first-place vote; three points for a second-place vote; and one point for a third-place vote), the award will be given to the relief pitcher who accrues the most total points.