MLB Awards 2016 All-Star Game To San Diego

For just the second time since 1963—when baseball returned to one all-star game per year—one league will play host to consecutive All-Star games.

The Padres were awarded the 2016 All-Star Game, MLB announced Thursday, the first all-star game set for San Diego since 1992. Cincinnati’s Great American Ballpark is the site for the 2015 game.

The game has alternated American League and National League parks since 1963—when baseball stopped play two all-star games per year, an experiment that lasted four seasons—except for 2006-07 when Pittsburgh and San Francisco hosted the event, respectively.

Outgoing commissioner Bud Selig made the announcement at the owners’ quarterly meetings in Arizona. The Orioles were expected to be awarded the 2016 game, but their legal squabble with the Nationals over rights fees and the Mid-Atlantic Sports Network reportedly prompted a change of plans.

Officially, MLB said it “received a number of outstanding bids from National League clubs whose ballparks have never hosted the All-Star Game. Due to the quality of these bids, it was determined that the 2016 site would be awarded to the club that made the most competitive bid, regardless of league affiliation.”

In a statement, Selig said, “I am very pleased to award the 2016 All-Star Game to the San Diego Padres, who made a detailed and comprehensive bid in conjunction with city officials. San Diego is one of America’s most beautiful cities, and showcasing Petco Park in its thriving downtown will be a remarkable opportunity for the Padres franchise and all of Major League Baseball.”