Hall Of Fame Throws Changeup In Voting

On the eve of Sunday’s induction ceremonies for managers Joe Torre, Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa as well as 300-game winners Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux and slugger Frank Thomas, the Hall of Fame on Saturday announced it was reducing the amount of time a retired player would remain on a ballot to 10 years from 15.

Players who had already spent 10 years on the ballot as of 2014 without being voted in, such as Don Mattingly, will be grandfathered in, meaning allowed to remain on the ballot until they reach 15 years.

Had the rule been in effect in previous years, it could have cost some Hall of Famers their place in Cooperstown. Players such as Bert Blyleven, Jim Rice, Bruce Sutter, Duke Snider and Ralph Kiner, according to ESPN, were all voted in in years 11-15 in their eligibility.

Other changes include:

• Hall of Fame eligible voters will now be required to complete a registration form and sign a code of conduct.

• Names of all Baseball Writers Association of America voters will be made public by the Hall of Fame. The voters will not, however, be required to reveal their votes.