Donaldson, Harper Honored By Players Association

The Blue Jays’ Josh Donaldson, who led the AL in RBIs and runs scored and helped Toronto reach the postseason for the first time since 1993, was named player of the year and AL Outstanding Player by his peers.

Winners of other Players Choice Awards, presented by the Major League Baseball Players Association, include Bryce Harper—BA’s Major League Player of the Year—who won NL Outstanding Player, and Adam Jones of the Orioles, who was named Marvin Miller Man of the Year for his off-the-field work.

The winners of the Player of the Year and Marvin Miller Man of the Year each receive a $50,000 grant from the Players Trust that will go to a charity or charities he selects, while the winners of awards as top comeback, rookie, pitcher and player in their league each receive a $20,000 grant.

Here are the finalists for each award with winners in bold

American League

Outstanding Player: Nelson Cruz (Seattle), Josh Donaldson (Toronto), Mike Trout (L.A. Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Sonny Gray (Oakland), Dallas Keuchel (Houston), David Price (Toronto)
Outstanding Rookie: Carlos Correa (Houston), Francisco Lindor (Cleveland), Miguel Sano (Minnesota)
Comeback Player: Prince Fielder (Texas), Kendrys Morales (Kansas City), Alex Rodriguez (N.Y. Yankees)

National League

Outstanding Player: Nolan Arenado (Colorado Rockies), Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Bryce Harper (Washington)
Outstanding Pitcher: Jake Arrieta (Chicago Cubs), Clayton Kershaw (L.A. Dodgers), Zack Greinke (L.A. Dodgers)
Outstanding Rookie: Kris Bryant (Chicago Cubs), Matt Duffy (San Francisco), Jung Ho Kang (Pittsburgh)
Comeback Player: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Matt Harvey (N.Y. Mets), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)

Either League

Player of the Year: Josh Donaldson (Toronto), Zack Greinke (L.A. Dodgers), Bryce Harper (Washington)
Man of the Year: Dee Gordon (Miami), Adam Jones (Baltimore), David Robertson (Chicago White Sox)