Baseball America’s Award Winners For 2006

Baseball America will honor the best in baseball today in Orlando at the sixth annual Baseball America Awards Gala. Here is the list of award winners for the year in baseball. To read stories about the recipients, click on the winner’s name.

Awards (click on the winner to read the story)
Major League POY: Johan Santana, lhp, Twins
Major League Exec Of The Year: Dave Dombroski, Detroit Tigers general manager
Major League Mgr Of The Year: Jim Leyland, Detroit Tigers manager
Major League Coach Of The Year: Rick Kranitz, Florida Marlins pitching coach
Rookie Of The Year: Justin Verlander, Tigers Premium
Minor League Exec Of The Year: Alan Ledford, Sacramento River Cats
Minor League Mgr Of The Year: Todd Claus, Portland Sea Dogs
Organization Of The Year: Los Angeles Dodgers
Triple-A Freitas Award:
Durham Bulls
Double-A Freitas Award:
Altoona Curve
Class A Freitas Award:
Daytona Cubs
Short-Season Freitas Award:
Aberdeen Ironbirds
College POY: Andrew Miller, lhp, North Carolina
College Coach Of The Year: Pat Casey, Oregon State
High School POY: Adrian Cardenas, ss, Monsignor Pace HS/Opa Locka, Fla.
Youth POY: Blake Beaven, rhp, Irving (Texas) High
Ripken Youth Coach Of The Year: Marcus Townsend, Mathews-Dickey Boys & Girls Club, St. Louis
Independent Organization Of The Year: St. Paul Saints
Roland Hemond Award: Karl Kuehl, Cleveland Indians special adviser to baseball operations
Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Gammons, ESPN analyst
Achievement Award:
Ken Griffey Jr., of, Cincinnati Reds