Play Ball!

This is Baseball America’s take on what the starting lineups will look
like for the 16 teams expected to be involved in the World Baseball
Classic next spring, and how each of the teams can be expected to
perform. Teams will be divided into four pools, with two teams
advancing from round-robin play out of each pool. The eight remaining
teams will play another set of round-robin competition, with four teams
advancing to a winner-take-all semifinal and final. Rosters were
determined by the staff of Baseball America with the help of our
correspondents. The organizations of players who are in the American
major or minor leagues are listed in parentheses.

Pool One: Japan, Korea, Taiwan, China
Pool Two: Puerto Rico, Cuba, Panama, Italy
Pool Three: Canada, Mexico, South Africa, United States
Pool Four: Australia, Dominican Republic, Netherlands, Venezuela