USA Baseball Invites 20 For College Squad

Sophomores J.P. Arencibia, Sean Doolittle, David Price and Joe Savery
lead a list of 20 players who have accepted invitations to USA
Baseball’s national team trials this summer. All four played on the
2005 roster following their freshman seasons.

USA Baseball
expects to announce 12 more invitees by May 30 before adding four more
names in June to complete the trials roster at 36 players. The final
roster will be announced July 2. This year’s trials will take place
June 22-July 1 in exhibition games played in the New England Collegiate

“This short list of invitees to the trials represents
nondraft eligible players whose 2006 performance on the field has
warranted an invite to the trials,” said Eric Campbell, USA Baseball
general manager of national teams.  “We will continue to watch the rest
of the season to find those remaining invitees that demand

Team USA will compete in the FISU World
University Championship in Havana, Cuba, in August after playing series
at Durham Bulls Athletic Park against Japan and a yet-to-determined
opponent in July.

Matt Wieters was the fifth freshman on last
summer’s roster, but declined the invitation in favor of playing in the
Cape Cod League this summer.

Zack Cozart and Nick Schmidt
accepted trials invitations for a second year after not making the
final roster following their freshmen seasons.

Damon Sublett
received an invitation despite having surgery to remove a broken hamate
bone in his right wrist May 5. He was expected to be ready to return to
action in four to six weeks, though the injury could limit the power of
a hitter who led Wichita State with 10 home runs.

performance was as good as anybody in the country, so he earned the
invitation,” Campbell said. “He should be able to come back from the
injury, but his status is contingent on that.”

Team USA Invitees
Player Pos. Year School
Pedro Alvarez 3B Fr. Vanderbilt
J.P. Arencibia C So. Tennessee
Jake Arrieta RHP So. Texas Christian
Bryan Augenstein RHP So. Florida
Darwin Barney SS So. Oregon State
Mike Bianucci OF Fr. Auburn
Julio Borbon OF So. Tennessee
Preston Clark C Fr. Texas
Zack Cozart SS So. Mississippi
Sean Doolittle OF/LHP So. Virginia
Todd Frazier SS So. Rutgers
Austin Krum OF So. Dallas Baptist
Sean Morgan RHP So. Tulane
Wynn Pelzer RHP So. South Carolina
David Price LHP So. Vanderbilt
Wes Roemer RHP So. Cal State Fullerton
Joe Savery LHP/1B So. Rice
Nick Schmidt LHP So. Arkansas
Cole St. Clair LHP So. Rice
Damon Sublett 2B/RHP So. Wichita State