Stetson Hires Steve Trimper

Nick Derba Takes Over At Maine

Stetson announced Saturday it has hired Steve Trimper to be its head coach. Trimper has been a head coach for the last 18 seasons, first at Manhattan and for the last 11 seasons at Maine.

Trimper takes over the Hatters from Pete Dunn, who announced his retirement Monday after 37 seasons as head coach. Dunn will fulfill the final year of his contract as head coach emeritus, focusing on fund raising and community relations.

In a statement, Stetson athletic director Jeff Altier said Trimper was the "complete package."

"He has been successful on the field at both Maine and Manhattan, but he has also had a tremendous impact in other areas," Altier said. "He has an outstanding record of developing young men, both academically and athletically, to reach their full potential. He is an accomplished fundraiser, has a long history of civic engagement, and will be a great fit in the DeLand community."

Trimper is 481-466-4 in 18 years as a head coach. He led Maine to the NCAA tournament in 2006 and 2011, and the regular season America East Conference championship in 2013. The Black Bears have had three straight losing seasons, however, and went 20-35 in 2016.

Trimper has spent his entire career in the Northeast. Before becoming head coach at Manhattan in 1999, he was an assistant coach at Vermont and Wentworth College (Mass.). Now, he will take over from Dunn, the 15th winningest coach in Division I history.

In a statement, Trimper said he was ready to begin his new role.

“It is a tremendous opportunity to build on all that Coach Dunn, the coaches and the players there have created over the years," he said. "I am so excited to get there and get to work."

Nick Derba, who played at Manhattan under Trimper and retired from his pro playing career in 2012, was named interim head coach Saturday.

School Departures Arrivals
Alabama Mitch Gaspard Greg Goff
Alabama State Mervyl Melendez Jose Vazquez
Appalachian State Billy Jones Kermit Smith
Army Matt Reid Jim Foster
Butler Steve Farley Dave Schrage
Cal State Bakersfield Bob Macaluso Jeremy Beard (interim)
Central Florida Terry Rooney Greg Lovelady
Florida International Turtle Thomas Mervyl Melendez
Furman Ron Smith Brett Harker
Jacksonville Tim Montez Chris Hayes
Kentucky Gary Henderson Nick Mingione
Lamar Jim Gilligan (ret.) Will Davis
Liberty Jim Toman Scott Jackson
LIU-Brooklyn Alex Trezza Dan Pirillo
Louisiana Tech Greg Goff Lane Burroughs
Maine Steve Trimper  Nick Derba (interim)
Maryland-Eastern Shore John O’Neil Charlie Goens
Mississippi State John Cohen Andy Cannizaro
Missouri Tim Jamieson Steve Bieser
Nebraska-Omaha Bob Herold Evan Porter (interim)
Northwestern State Lane Burroughs Bobby Barbier
Oakland John Musachio Jacke Heale, Colin Kaline
Purdue Doug Schreiber Mark Wasikowski
St. Peter’s T.J. Baxter Danny Ramirez
San Jose State Dave Nakama Jason Hawkins
South Dakota State Dave Schrage Rob Bishop
SIU-Edwardsville Tony Stoecklin Sean Lyons
Southeast Missouri State Steve Bieser Andy Sawyers
Stetson Pete Dunn (ret.) Steve Trimper
Texas Augie Garrido David Pierce
Tulane David Pierce Travis Jewett
Villanova Joe Godri Kevin Mulvey
Wright State Greg Lovelady Jeff Mercer
Youngstown State Steve Gillispie Dan Bertolini