NCAA Names 16 Regional Hosts

The Atlantic Coast and Southeastern conferences account for nine of the 16 schools that will play host to regionals in next weekend’s opening round of the NCAA baseball tournament.

Kentucky, which had the SEC’s best regular-season record, will be a regional host for the first time and is one of five SEC host sites. The list also includes Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia and Mississippi.

North Carolina earned a host site for the first time since 1983 and is one of four ACC schools to earn a host site. Clemson, Georgia Tech and Virginia also will be hosts. Clemson won the ACC tournament Sunday.

The West Coast got three regional hosts, with one major surprise. Cal State Fullerton (Big West) and Oregon State (Pacific-10), champions of the West’s two best baseball conferences, got regionals, but so did Pepperdine in a major upset. The Waves, who won the 1992 College World Series, will be a regional host for the first time. Eddy D. Field Stadium is considered one of college baseball’s most picturesque, with a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island, but the ballpark does not have lights, and Pepperdine was playing for the West Coast Conference championship Sunday against San Francisco.

Three Big 12 schools–Nebraska, Oklahoma and defending national champion Texas–got bids, as did Rice of Conference USA.

For the first time since 1975, no regional will be played at a school from the state of Florida. And for the first time since 1989, Louisiana State is not a host.

Alabama Southeastern
Arkansas Southeastern
Cal State Fullerton Big West
Clemson Atlantic Coast
Georgia Southeastern
Georgia Tech Atlantic Coast
Kentucky Southeastern
Mississippi Southeastern
Nebraska Big 12
North Carolina Atlantic Coast
Oklahoma Big 12
Oregon State Pacific-10
Pepperdine West Coast
Rice Conference USA
Texas Big 12
Virginia Atlantic Coast