Liberty Hires UNC’s Jackson As Head Coach

Scott Jackson, who was the pitching coach at Liberty before spending the past eight seasons at North Carolina, is returning to Liberty as head coach, the university said Sunday.

Jackson has been the hitting and infield coach and recruiting coordinator for the Tar Heels after spending one season at Liberty in 2008. Liberty will introduce Jackson on Monday at 4 p.m. Eastern.

Jackson replaces Jim Toman, who resigned unexpectedly on June 24 after nine seasons.

“Playing at Liberty will be the ultimate experience for our student-athletes--spiritually, academically, socially and athletically,” Jackson said in a news release. “They will be challenged daily, pushed to meet those challenges, encouraged, lifted up and will establish a tremendous sense of pride and ownership in our program.”

In his time at North Carolina, Jackson brought in six recruiting classes ranked in the Top 25, including this season’s group, which ranked No. 16. Among the players recruited to UNC by Jackson were Colin Moran, who was the sixth overall pick in 2013 by the Marlins and now at Triple-A with the Astros.

Prior to his time at Liberty, Jackson spent five seasons as pitching coach at UNC Wilmington. A Campbell graduate, Jackson had a career .268 average in his time with the Camels.

School Departures Arrivals
Alabama Mitch Gaspard Greg Goff
Alabama State Mervyl Melendez Jose Vazquez
Appalachian State Billy Jones Kermit Smith
Army Matt Reid Jim Foster
Butler Steve Farley Dave Schrage
Central Florida Terry Rooney Greg Lovelady
Florida International Turtle Thomas Mervyl Melendez
Furman Ron Smith Brett Harker
Jacksonville Tim Montez Chris Hayes
Kentucky Gary Henderson Nick Mingione
Lamar Jim Gilligan (ret.) Will Davis
Liberty Jim Toman Scott Jackson
Louisiana Tech Greg Goff Lane Burroughs
Missouri Tim Jamieson Steve Bieser
Nebraska-Omaha Bob Herold
Northwestern State Lane Burroughs Bobby Barbier
Oakland John Musachio Jacke Heale, Colin Kaline
Purdue Doug Schreiber Mark Wasikowski
San Jose State Dave Nakama Jason Hawkins
South Dakota State Dave Schrage
SIU-Edwardsville Tony Stoecklin Sean Lyons
Southeast Missouri State Steve Bieser
Texas Augie Garrido David Pierce
Tulane David Pierce Travis Jewett
Villanova Joe Godri  Kevin Mulvey
Wright State Greg Lovelady Jeff Mercer
Youngstown State Steve Gillispie Dan Bertolini