Cape League All-Stars Announced

The Cape Cod League has announced the rosters for its 49th annual all-star game set to take place July 29th at Fenway Park. The event marks the third consecutive summer that Fenway will serve as a host.

In the Eastern Division, the Brewster Whitecaps will send a division-best six players to Boston, including a pair of Michigan State standouts in righthander Tony Bucciferro and second baseman Ryan Jones. Bucciferro currently sports one of the league’s top ERAs at 1.70 and a nifty 5-to-1 strikeout-to-walk ratio, while Jones is hitting .308. Both were first-team all-Big Ten selections this spring. Whitecaps relievers Austin Voth (Washington) and J.T. Chargois (Rice), both of whom have ERAs beneath 1.00, and outfielders Jason Monda (Washington State) and Andrew Toles (Tennessee) will also make the trip. Monda is currently third in the league in hitting at .329 and Toles, an unsigned fourth-round draft pick in 2010, is hitting .299 with 12 stolen bases.

Among Harwich’s five players selected is East starting pitcher Taylor Rogers, a southpaw from Kentucky. Rogers is 2-2, 1.73 with 22 strikeouts so far this summer. Joining Rogers will be relievers Chris Overman (N.C. State) and Carter Capps (Mt. Olive (N.C.), Seattle’s supplemental third-round selection this year, catcher Luke Voit (Missouri State) and outfielder Jabari Henry (Florida International).

Orleans had two pitchers—Trevor Gott (Kentucky) and Tyler Johnson (Stony Brook)—and two hitters—Ben Waldrip (Jackonsville State) and Matt Duffy (Long Beach State)—chosen. Gott, a small but hard-throwing righthander, is tied for the league lead in saves with eight, and Waldrip leads the league in home runs with six.

Four Yarmouth-Dennis hitters will take their shot at the Green Monster, led by Stanford third baseman Stephen Piscotty, who has hit .312 with two home runs and 14 RBIs in 77 at-bats. Outfielders Mason Katz (Louisiana State), Cody Keefer (UCLA), and James Ramsey (Florida State) will also try their hand. Ramsey was drafted in the 22nd round by Minnesota this year and has hit .309 with five doubles, four home runs and 12 RBIs this summer.

Two Chatham Anglers—Louisville righthander Matt Koch and Oklahoma State backstop Dane Phillips—round out the East squad. Phillips has hit .316 with four home runs and 24 RBIs.

On the West side, six Bourne Braves were picked, tied with Brewster for most representatives in the all-star game. Righthander Ryan Eades, a rising sophomore from Louisiana State, will start on the mound for the East. Eades has dominated Cape competition this summer and has a 0.86 ERA heading into the weekend. Fellow righties Josh Conway (Coastal Carolina) and John Farrell (William and Mary) are also headed to Fenway.

Bourne also had three bats honored in North Carolina third baseman Colin Moran, Baseball America’s Freshman of the Year, and Stony Brook teammates catcher Pat Cantwell and center fielder Travis Jankowski, both first-team America East selections this spring. Jankowski, a rising junior, has shown off impressive speed, leading the league with seven triples and ranking fourth in stolen bases with 11. He is also second in the Cape with a .343 batting average.

Hyannis, which has held the Cape’s best record for most of the summer, was awarded five selections. Clemson righthander Scott Firth heads the list, followed by lefthanded reliever Dietrich Enns from Central Michigan. Firth currently leads the league with a 0.82 ERA through six starts. Hyannis' catcher, Kevin Plawecki (Purdue), as well as infielder Eric Stamets (Evansville) and outfielder Joey Rickard (Arizona) are all-stars. Stamets and Rickard lead the Harbor Hawks in hits with 36 and 33, respectively.

Representing the Wareham Gatemen will be pitchers Konner Wade (Arizona) and Justin Amlung (Louisville) in addition to first baseman Max Muncy (Baylor) and outfielder John Andreoli (Connecticut). Amlung has been lights out this summer, following up on his first-team all Big East selection, and is among league leaders with a 1.76 ERA through 41 innings. He was drafted in the 39th round by Cincinnati this spring.

Falmouth and Cotuit have three picks apiece. Rice righthander John Simms, Oregon State infielder Jake Rodriguez, and St. John’s outfielder Jeremy Baltz will don the Commodore colors at Fenway. Simms has been nearly unhittable this summer, allowing just four hits and striking out 23 in 14 innings of relief. He has yet to allow an earned run and has seven saves.

Cotuit will have some of the bigger names in this year’s event, headed by Georgia Southern’s Victor Roache. Roache, who became the first player to reach the 30 home run plateau in Division I since 2002 this spring, enters the weekend atop the league in batting average and RBIs and is second in home runs. He will be joined by Arizona State shortstop Deven Marrero, a member of this year’s USA Baseball collegiate national team, and Mississippi young gun Bobby Wahl, who has fanned 32 in 18 innings of relief.

The Western Division won the all-star game last summer, 5-0, with Houston’s Caleb Ramsey (Nationals, 11th) earning MVP honors. Thirteen 2010 Cape Cod League all-star game alums were drafted in the first five rounds this year, including first-rounders Jed Bradley (Brewers, Georgia Tech), Kolten Wong (Cardinals, Hawaii), Joe Panik (Giants, St. John’s), and Levi Michael (Twins, UNC), as well as supplemental pick Grayson Garvin (Rays, Vanderbilt).