2015 College Conference Preview: Horizon League

Tyler Detmer

Tyler Detmer is the Horizon League’s No. 10 draft prospect.

BA breaks down the Horizon League, including our projections for regional teams, player of the year, pitcher of the year and top prospects.

Baseball Members (First Year): Illinois-Chicago (1994), Oakland (2014), Valparaiso (2008), Wright State (1994), Wisconsin-Milwaukee (1994), Youngstown State (2002).
Checking out: None.
Team to Beat: Wright State. The Raiders lapped the field in the Horizon League last year, going 25-4 in conference play to win the regular-season title by a whopping 8½ games. They came up short in the conference tournament, losing twice to Youngstown State to miss out on regionals, but they expect to bounce back in 2015. Veteran lefthander Robby Sexton (5-1, 2.93) returns to lead the rotation, but he could be pushed by newcomer righthander Jesse Scholtens. Scholtens began his career at Arizona in 2013 before spending last year in junior college and showed low 90s velocity in the fall. Offensively, the Raiders bring back three of their top four hitters, led by catcher Sean Murphy (.301/.390/.442, 4 HR), an advanced defender who's added muscle since last year, and steady Sr. second baseman Michael Timm (.325/.432/.467, 3 HR). Wright State also has high hopes for athletic juco transfer outfielder Ryan Fucci, whose pure tools might be the best of the group.
Player of the Year: Jeff Boehm, of, Illinois-Chicago. Boehm (.302/.408/.543, 7 HR) has impressive raw power and tied for the league home run title a year ago. He'll transition to the outfield after playing first base in 2014.
Pitcher of the Year: Dalton Lundeen, lhp, Valparaiso. Lundeen (5-6, 1.94), the reigning Horizon co-pitcher of the year, will look to build on an already impressive resume. He threw eight shutout innings in the Horizon tournament title game as a freshman in 2013 and led the league in ERA, walks-per-nine (1.30) and strikeout-walk ratio (5.42) last year.
Freshman of the Year: Jeremy Randolph, rhp, Wright State. The Raiders like Randolph's strike throwing ability along with his three-pitch mix, slotting him in as their Sunday starter to open the year.
Tournament: Six teams, modified double-elimination, May 20-23 at Whiting, Ind.

1. Jesse Scholtens, rhp Wright State
2. Sam Koenig, of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
3. Andrew Elliott, rhp Wright State
4. Robby Sexton, lhp Wright State
5. Dalton Lundeen, lhp Valparaiso
6. Kevin Yarabinec, rhp Youngstown State
7. Mitch Ghelfi, c Wisconsin-Milwaukee
8. Jeff Boehm, of Illinois-Chicago
9. Trevor Lane, lhp Illinois-Chicago
10. Tyler Detmer, c Illinois-Chicago