Browse Articles

Can They Repeat?

John Manuel -

Louisiana State won its sixth national championship since 1991 and first since 2000, re-establishing itself as part of college baseball royalty by beating Texas 11-4 and winning the 2009 College World Series. To begin a second installment of the LSU dynasty, coach Paul Mainieri will have to follow the example of former Tigers coach Skip Bertman, who used a power-fueled offense and flexible pitching staff to win back-to-back titles in 1996-97. Only Oregon State (2006-07) has repeated as champion since then.

College | #2009#College World Series#Postseason